How To: Aftermarket radio wiring with stock SVT sub and amp. - Page 5 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2010, 06:33 PM   #41
6SPD_soul
Focus Addict
 
6SPD_soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Fan#: 53637
Location: Soldiers Grove, WI
What I Drive: 2003 Comp Orange EAP SVT

Posts: 1,468
FF Reputation: 24 6SPD_soul Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Rick I just did this today and it was surprisingly easy once you get it straight in your head how to do it. The car sounds SO MUCH BETTER with real bass. The easiest way to clarify this is by looking at this picture:

First off, the wiring plug on the far right is the one that controls the sub+amp and steering wheel controls, and the one you mostly need to deal with. The 2 wires at the far right end of the plug that are kind of intertwined are the preamp output positive and negative wires. These are the ones that need to get spliced with the RCA wires as illustrated elsewhere in the thread, and the normal RCA plug goes into either the left or right rear output plug on the back of the head unit.

The fifth wire from the right end of the same harness is the amp on wire, it's white and red. You need to bridge a wire from that all the way over to one of the blue wires on the opposite side of the screen, the far left harness lower plug. Mine was the left most wire and was labeled as amp on or something to that effect, but I remember mine being solid blue as opposed to the blue/white you see above. "Amp on" was printed directly on the wire. If you wanted to use a resistor as described by Matt, it would go into the wire bridging the two amp on wires, but I skipped it and don't really hear any "pop" when the car is turned on, so I don't know what benefit there would be in putting a resistor inline. Also this bridging wire is where you could use a spade type connector as illustrated above so it will all come apart cleanly, but I just used a single wire. I can always put a spade connection in later. If your deck has a menu for adjusting separate sub volume then you don't need to worry about the crossover stuff mentioned above.

I didn't take any pictures, but I did make a crude photoshop illustration of all this using the above picture and can send it to you if you want it. It's got helpful arrows and whatnot. This thread was helpful and concise alsohttp://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...ood+audiophile but disregard what he says about the yellow/brown wire. The RCA wires need to go to the preamp output + / - wires and they are white/black and gray/black, in that order.
6SPD_soul is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2010, 05:51 AM   #42
RickNC
Focus Enthusiast
 
RickNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38833
Location: NC, United States
What I Drive: Focus

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 1 RickNC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks 6spd.I have been talking with the original poster of this thread. I need to go double check but I don't recall him saying anything about the blue wire.
RickNC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:50 AM   #43
Als RS8
Focus Addict
 
Als RS8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 53271
Location: arizona
What I Drive: maroon lx

Posts: 1,146
FF Reputation: 1 Als RS8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
and the skipper too!
Als RS8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 07:10 PM   #44
RickNC
Focus Enthusiast
 
RickNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38833
Location: NC, United States
What I Drive: Focus

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 1 RickNC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I did this as per the instructions in the first post and it didn't work. I couldn't seem to hear any sound from the sub. I talked to Matt through PM and he didn't mention using that blue wire. I will retry tomorrow using the blue wire to see if it makes a difference.

Anyone got pics of their installed reciever? I am not too happy with the way my adapter piece looks. Wondering if I got it in correctly or not.
RickNC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 08:25 PM   #45
6SPD_soul
Focus Addict
 
6SPD_soul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Fan#: 53637
Location: Soldiers Grove, WI
What I Drive: 2003 Comp Orange EAP SVT

Posts: 1,468
FF Reputation: 24 6SPD_soul Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Matt doesn't mention in the first post what the white/red wire needs to hook to at all. Take another look at this and your wiring. WUGcatsvt also mentions hooking to a blue wire.

This picture also shows the blue amp turn on wire you are looking for. It's just been cut in half and has a spade connector attached to it. Examine all the wires coming immediately from your deck, and they should be labeled. If you got the RCA cable hooked up correctly to the preamp +/- wires than you should be set once you connect the amp turn on wires.

What adapter are you mentioning? If you were able to get any sound at all through the stereo it's hooked up correctly. The blue amp turn on wire that I mentioned doesn't connect to anything in the above harness, that's why you have to bridge a wire from the other white/red one.
6SPD_soul is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:06 AM   #46
RickNC
Focus Enthusiast
 
RickNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38833
Location: NC, United States
What I Drive: Focus

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 1 RickNC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Everything works great except the sub. The spade wire picture above just confuses me. You said to run a wire from the blue to the red/white wire on the factory sub harness. My only question about that is do I run the wire to the blue amp wire on the reciver harness or the harness adapter? Thanks.

*EDIT. I see where you said run the wire from the amp turn on from the deck to the red/white. Matt mentioned checking for an option on the deck to turn the sub on.

Last edited by RickNC; 09-09-2010 at 05:16 AM.
RickNC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:16 PM   #47
RickNC
Focus Enthusiast
 
RickNC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38833
Location: NC, United States
What I Drive: Focus

Posts: 174
FF Reputation: 1 RickNC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Got it working. Turns out it did need that wire crossed over. Sounds much much better. Without the sub and amp it sounded worse than factory.
RickNC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 12:59 PM   #48
lttljp15
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
lttljp15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83672
Location: milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2004 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 lttljp15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
can someone make a eaier diy on this if i knew what exactly to do in my 2004 svt i would make a new write up can some one make a diagram on word of somthing with arrows and colors of what needs to be done and what parts are needed
lttljp15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 07:56 PM   #49
BlackJack03
Focus Fanatic
 
BlackJack03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 43232
Location: La Crosse, WI, United States
What I Drive: 04 EAP ZX5 SVTF

Posts: 1,882
FF Reputation: 31 BlackJack03 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Turns out this is a perfect write-up. Thanks. (got it installed and it works great)
__________________

Last edited by BlackJack03; 09-18-2011 at 09:42 PM.
BlackJack03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 02:55 PM   #50
isham.padron
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96379
Location: Orlando, FL
What I Drive: 2004 Gray SVT

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 isham.padron Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Would anyone be willing to make me the harness that I can just plug in? I would pay for your time and parts.
isham.padron is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.