Buyer beware... - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Marketplace > Vendors, Dealers & Seller Reviews

Vendors, Dealers & Seller Reviews Good or Bad dealings? Post your vendor, dealer or seller recommendations, feedback and comments here. Members who knowingly post false or malicious information will be banned from the site.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2010, 06:06 PM   #1
Focus Fanatic
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 487
Location: San Dimas, CA
What I Drive: 2009 Vista Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 1,658
FF Reputation: 3 voortrek3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Buyer beware...

I would recommend steering clear of DRIVEWIRE.COM. I went onto their site to order some MOOG poly rear sway bar end links and here is the sequence of events:

-ordered them and when I pushed the 'complete transaction' I was jumped to a women's clothing homepage
-called them back 2 min later & told they had sent a confirmation email
-no email
-checked my bank...double billed me the full amount each
-called to cancel order...can't it's been sent to the shipper
-asked why i was double're not...I am looking at it, I am...YOU'RE LYING they say
-referred to 3 people each with different story
time elapsed so far 70 min
-next day call them...can't help me...need to call this other number
-call other number...rep is going try and cancel the order from shipper if possible (she was decent)
-time elasped another 45 min
-ask why I was double dipped...told they send a ghost transaction to make sure funds are available
-shipment due today Friday
-money taken from my account, 2nd transaction deleted
-have to call them to set up a return and get a return transaction #
-once part is received by them, they will attempt to issue a refund
-I usually get a kiss when I'm f....d!

I would not use these people again if they were THE only parts place on the planet. You can use them if you want but I won't. End of story.

voortrek3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2010, 06:23 PM   #2
coffee, have some
Mr.Bergner's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 32799
Location: Overland Park, KS
What I Drive: 2004 TW Blue ZX3

Posts: 5,966
FF Reputation: 53 Mr.Bergner Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
I've never ordered from them before, but I can understand the pre-authorization charge. Those suck because I've been burned by them before so I understand that.

For the jumping to a womens clothing site, that's just plain weird. I don't suppose Spy-ware could play a part on it? Have you scanned your computer recently? There's also some cool utilities you can use to trace the route each connection is making when web surfing such as HTTP watch. And WebMTR will trace the routers it takes to reach the website. I don't suppose any of those sites would hit that strange website.

Internet just really isn't that stable and you can never be too sure.

But hope you get it all figured out!
2004 ZX3 MTX - Twighlight Blue
2001 ZX3 S2 ATX - JAN 2009 ROTM - SOLD
Moderator for [Ford Focus & General Car Chat][Ford Focus Non-Performance Discussions]
Hatch Nation #29_____________________________________________________________________________ _ _ _ _ _ _
Mr.Bergner is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 06:33 PM   #3
GT40 all the things!
disciplerocks's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,431
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Talk to your bank and see if you can put a stop payment on it.
04 ZX3 Mostly Stock ["Best Non-SVT" FITF '12][3/13 ROTM][7/14 ROTM][2014 ROTY]
12 SE Hatch Sport & Winter Package, ST Front End
94 F150 XLT 5.0 HO, OBDII Swap
89 Bronco II XLT Crawler
disciplerocks is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:25 PM   #4
Shot me 3 deer!!!
mlbbaseball's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Fan#: 53541
Location: Detroit MI, and Houghton MI, (college), MI
What I Drive: 01 zx3 s2 x2, 02 SVT, Jeep Cherokee

Posts: 9,239
FF Reputation: 42 mlbbaseball Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (69)
or credit card if its a cc, but that sucks! call the BBB and report them!
rockin 70+ hours a week at work and still trying to have a social life!!!

2004 SVT EAP partout, PM me with needs.
mlbbaseball is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 10:43 PM   #5
fhh02a's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Fan#: 57548
Location: Lubbock, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2004, Pitch Black Zx3

Posts: 6,177
FF Reputation: 13 fhh02a Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
honestly talk to your bank and see if it really went through and stop payment if you can

i used Super Anti spyware for random sweeps of my computer
[B][COLOR="Red"]Part of the DreamSpeed crew [/COLOR][/B][COLOR="Black"]
[B]Moderator for[/B][/COLOR]
[URL="http://"][COLOR="Black"]GEN CHAT[/COLOR][/URL]
fhh02a is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:19 PM   #6
FF's Night Security
sleepyboy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,290
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Suck to hear about.

Now for the redirecting web page could be a few things.
1. your computer could be infected
2. there site could be infected
3. they are really really screwing you lol

I use a few programs such as
Dr. Web

these are good programs to use. Beware though some programs pose as anti-virus when they are not. Also there is scareware out there. It pops up saying your computer is infected click on ok to fix. All it's trying to do is scare you into click yes install this virus.

The internet is like sex, sure you can sleep around but, if you not careful you can get a virus. So you should practice safe internet usage.
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 06:50 PM   #7
Focus Addict
BOOSTA's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36047
Location: Albany, New York, United States
What I Drive: 2003 White ZX3 2.3L Turboed Duratec

Posts: 1,410
FF Reputation: 8 BOOSTA Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Im sure everything is fine, you were jumped to womens clothing because it is advertising from Drivewire, instead of a pop up, you were redirected to another shopping site, i forget the term they use when they do this, but they are all affiliated with eachother. So like i said its kind of like a pop up but different, dont worry everything will be fine. I learned about this kind of stuff when I started my own online business. Drivewire is paid by these companies. You buy something from Drive wire, they redirect you to another shopping store and blahh blahh. Its called affiliate marketing.

And like others have said you were a victim of the pre authorization charge. Some stores do this to make sure there are enough funds for the purchase. But dont worry you wont get double charged.

Anyway good luck, and if you are really scared, try using firefoc with google add on for safer web browsing!

Good luck.
----The Honda Eater----
BOOSTA is offline  
    Reply With Quote

Bookmarks & Social Networks
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.

Copyright 2002-2014 All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.