AEM wideband to xcal3 question - Page 4 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 10:44 AM   #31
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
technical support section...looked everywhere but there lol....thanks ZX3
SCT site is hard to find your way around in my opinion a "Downloads" section would be easy to find

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2010, 10:59 AM   #32
JustDrive
Focus Enthusiast
 
JustDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71337
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2002 SVT Focus Pro-Charged... sorta

Posts: 95
FF Reputation: 2 JustDrive Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey I went a step further and made up my own firewire cable. Instead of limiting the cord to one channel, I allowed the option to run either channel1 or channel2. Let me know what you think.

[IMG]<a href="http://s810.photobucket.com/albums/zz28/opps_thats_unavailable/Fire%20Wire/?action=view&current=IMG_0328.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i810.photobucket.com/albums/zz28/opps_thats_unavailable/Fire%20Wire/IMG_0328.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>[/IMG]

Thanks BC_ZX3 for the starting point. Im getting pretty go at making these things now.
JustDrive is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:32 PM   #33
JustDrive
Focus Enthusiast
 
JustDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71337
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2002 SVT Focus Pro-Charged... sorta

Posts: 95
FF Reputation: 2 JustDrive Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
^^
Here is the link



http://i810.photobucket.com/albums/z...e/IMG_0328.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0328.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	76.6 KB
ID:	18181  

JustDrive is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:56 PM   #34
pattywaggon
Focus Enthusiast
 
pattywaggon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69125
Location: Levittown, PA
What I Drive: 03 yellow ZX3 2.0L Zetec

Posts: 321
FF Reputation: 0 pattywaggon Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
What about the xcal2 it doesnt use that type of cable or car u do almost the same concept and figure out the wires and such?
I bought an xcal2 and need to figure it out, the plug is roundish. I have to find out what it is for sure but i bet someone on here would know
__________________
BEWSTING ALL DAY
SELLING:
FACTORY 03 SUBWOOFER AMP $15
FACTORY 03 HEADLIGHTS W/ ZENON BULBS 30$
FACTORY 03 SPEAKERS $10 FOR 2
pattywaggon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 09:26 PM   #35
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,851
FF Reputation: 86 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Post #10 on http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=207339

Concept is the same, as you've already suggested, just a slightly different cable end to work with.
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 05:53 AM   #36
Juantron
Focus Addict
 
Juantron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56983
Location: Advance, NC
What I Drive: '03 SVT-5

Posts: 925
FF Reputation: 3 Juantron Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC_ZX3 View Post
Post #10 on http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=207339

Concept is the same, as you've already suggested, just a slightly different cable end to work with.
Wow, that dude has a niiiiice setup! (on the other hand, glad I don't require the J&S, haha)
Juantron is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 03:02 PM   #37
mcrcracer
Focus Enthusiast
 
mcrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65119
Location: Bothell, WA
What I Drive: 2003 Black Focus SVT

Posts: 445
FF Reputation: 3 mcrcracer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
how do you hook up the O2 sensor to the AFR gauge?
__________________
#1105 OF 3985
Technologist for Rally America
mcrcracer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 05:17 PM   #38
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,851
FF Reputation: 86 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
When you buy the AEM wideband gauge kit, the wiring harness that connects to the O2 sensor comes configured with a six pin female connector attached to the cable end. It simply plugs directly into the "socket" in the back of the gauge. It's plug and play.
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 11:13 AM   #39
mcrcracer
Focus Enthusiast
 
mcrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65119
Location: Bothell, WA
What I Drive: 2003 Black Focus SVT

Posts: 445
FF Reputation: 3 mcrcracer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
I didnt buy an AEM one, I was told I could splice into the O2 sensor. Would I unhook it from the car and just have it going to the AFR gauge? If so, wouldnt that make the check engine light come on?
__________________
#1105 OF 3985
Technologist for Rally America
mcrcracer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:45 PM   #40
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You CANNOT spice into the stock o2 sensor and get a AF reading thats needed for tuning. The AEM is your best bet

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.