SCT Datalogging issues PLEASE POST - Page 8 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2010, 12:51 PM   #71
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
livelink 6
windows xp
xcal2 1.14
2002 Focus NFC1/SBAF6

sometimes when starting a log everything will come up as 0.000 and stay that way. Have to stop and start the log to fix it. Sometimes it will do it 2-3 times in a row.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2010, 09:00 AM   #72
mtadd162
Proudly Daily Driven
 
mtadd162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 47890
Location: Massachusetts, Afghanistan
What I Drive: 2005 Focus ST

Posts: 2,255
FF Reputation: 9 mtadd162 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
when I plug my firewire into the xcal and select start monitoring, an error comes up that says communication lost!...what am I doing wrong.. I can't get my AEM to be recognized by the xcal
what version live link and what operating system?
__________________
05 Focus ST-Sold but missed
-ST Crew #73 N/A FTW!
Feb. 09' ROTM
SSR - Silver Sedan Revolution Member #1
Cams Installed, great made my car into a VTAK
mtadd162 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:51 AM   #73
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,042
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
^^got it working yesterday!!! Livelink 6 and windows XP...I have an 09...there's a couple things you have to do differently to get it to work
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:29 PM   #74
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing MemberBradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Problem: 08' Focus - PID list

Tom, I know you are aware of this, just thought I'd add it here so that Blivit is aware of my latest little aggravation.

My strategy number is FDGH3F2.H32. Bring up LiveLink and DO NOT connect the X3 to the OBD port. You will be asked to enter your strategy number (FDGH3F2). The list of PIDs that is displayed is different then the list you get when the X3 is plugged into the ODB port. When it is plugged in to the OBD port some important little items like, "pressure drop across injectors" that is displayed when unplugged is no longer listed.

I sent that info to SCT support and the answer was:

"PID's that show when the device is not plugged in are general/default PIDS, and are not necessarily available to datalog. This would be why you’re experiencing the issues you are. The only recommendation I have for you is you could possibly have the vehicle re-flashed by Ford for a newer strategy and that could possibly provide more/proper PIDS to datalog."

Really, I'm supposed to hope that re-flashing my ECU will solve it?
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:45 PM   #75
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing MemberBlivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I agree that what the tech told you was probably not the best...or any..solution.

The real deal: The 08+ focus uses a mechanical returnless fuel system. This is different from other years. There is no PID for monitoring fuel pressure because of this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradWhite View Post
Problem: 08' Focus - PID list

Tom, I know you are aware of this, just thought I'd add it here so that Blivit is aware of my latest little aggravation.

My strategy number is FDGH3F2.H32. Bring up LiveLink and DO NOT connect the X3 to the OBD port. You will be asked to enter your strategy number (FDGH3F2). The list of PIDs that is displayed is different then the list you get when the X3 is plugged into the ODB port. When it is plugged in to the OBD port some important little items like, "pressure drop across injectors" that is displayed when unplugged is no longer listed.

I sent that info to SCT support and the answer was:

"PID's that show when the device is not plugged in are general/default PIDS, and are not necessarily available to datalog. This would be why you’re experiencing the issues you are. The only recommendation I have for you is you could possibly have the vehicle re-flashed by Ford for a newer strategy and that could possibly provide more/proper PIDS to datalog."

Really, I'm supposed to hope that re-flashing my ECU will solve it?
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 09:09 PM   #76
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing MemberBradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thank you, I appreciate your response. I'd also like you to know that I appreciate that fact that you are here on FF so we can bounce things off of you.
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:04 PM   #77
Roushturboedzx3
I Fab Too Much
 
Roushturboedzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 42814
Location: CLearwater, FL
What I Drive: 2002 Liquid Gray ZX3

Posts: 4,737
FF Reputation: 20 Roushturboedzx3 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
Hey this is for anyone who is having the issue where the odometer reads ---- and all the gauge reset while datalogging. THIS symptom of the ---- and gauges reset will only happen after you hit the red stop button to end the log, it will not hurt anything and is ok. ONCE you are done tuning and have the xcal unplugged it will NEVER happen again. :) heres some info for you guys
__________________
New: 2012 Mustang GT premium
SOLD:RACE GAS 602whp 501tq Pump Gas SAE 454whp
Garrett GT3582r, Topmount, built motor, Ported head,Tuned by Fernando@RacingPartsSolution
I may not be the baddest, but the baddest dont Fu** with me
Roushturboedzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:50 PM   #78
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,626
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
I agree that what the tech told you was probably not the best...or any..solution.

The real deal: The 08+ focus uses a mechanical returnless fuel system. This is different from other years. There is no PID for monitoring fuel pressure because of this.
The returnless system of the o8 and up has the same type cannister and a fuel rail psi sensor just like the early years , The ECU is getting a reading of fuel psi from somewhere because I saw this on a Ford scan tool , whats changes that makes the o8 Diff from the o9 or o7 ? If Ford can read and the ECU read this signal why cant SCT read it ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:29 PM   #79
disciplerocks
GT40 all the things!
 
disciplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59330
Location: Evansville, IN
What I Drive: 04 ZX3, 12 Hatch

Posts: 9,422
FF Reputation: 13 disciplerocks Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
The only problem I have had is connection issues in cold weather. I usually just bring it in and sit it by furnace vent for a minute.

Now if it only worked with windows 7 now that would be sweet!
__________________
04 ZX3 Mostly Stock [3/13 ROTM]["Best Non-SVT" FITF '12][7/14 ROTM][2014 ROTY]
12 SE Hatch Sport & Winter Package, ST Front End
94 F150 XLT 5.0 HO, OBDII Swap
89 Bronco II XLT Crawler
disciplerocks is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 05:40 AM   #80
borchey12
Focus Enthusiast
 
borchey12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 66057
Location: Independence, MO
What I Drive: 2009 Sangria Red SES coupe

Posts: 52
FF Reputation: 1 borchey12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a tune from Tom for my 09. I have done a couple of datalogs for him so he can get my A/F ratio within the proper limits @ WOT. The problem is when I run multiple PIDs in Livelink, the analog channel (A/F) gets "noisy". The gauge stays at a solid 14.8, but in Livelink the ratio jumps from 14.8 to 10 at every timestamp. Now, if I only run 2 or 3 PIDs, say A/f, RPM, and fuel pressure, the A/F stays steady and matches the gauge.

Copied from a thread by PSUrivie, due to the fact that I'm having the same problem logging my '09 with Livelink 6.1 and X3 on Windows Vista.
borchey12 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.