Going to Power Locks Questions - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2009, 09:17 PM   #1
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Going to Power Locks Questions

Hey guys. So I have a project. One of my buddies is building a freaking bad a** sedan. Thats all I'm going to say of that. He is not going to have any power stuff in this thing.

That being said, I have manual locks. His sedan came with power ones. The sedan is an 01, and mine is a ZX3 and is an 03. He was all the wiring and parts from it.

Now. Here is what I am thinking of doing. I'm going to need some help, and looking for you guys to do it. If I take his power locks, and door buttons, and the wiring. Can I make it work.

I'm not trying to tie into the car at all. I'm not trying to make it work with the factory remote. (I have an aftermarket security system that I would use for this) All I want to do is wire them up so that When you push the lock button, it locks the doors and when you hit the unlock button it unlocks the doors.

So. If I get his door latches, will they work from ZX4 to ZX3? Second, making my own wiring harness (and using bits and pieces of the stock one) can I wire them up in a way to just make the buttons work?

Thanks for any and all help!

Austin


skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2009, 10:09 AM   #2
Shady R
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3138
Location: Sioux Falls South Dakota
What I Drive: Euro 2003 PitchBlack SVT Focus

Posts: 764
FF Reputation: 8 Shady R Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes you can make it work.
Actuators, mounting brackets, 2 relay, 30feet of 16 gauge wire.
5wire setup.
connecting to the alarm only is gonna be the easiest way to do this. if you want to incorporate it in the car 100% then your gonna need a lot more labor and parts, if your going that far you might as well do the power locks and windows.you wont need the latches and buttons in other words..
__________________
Bwaha ha ha ha ha ha, Bleach Fan from day 1. 07-2005:: Spoiler:: Aizen is a good guy. Every one dies. Orihime Saves every one. All there memories are erased as if NONE of it happend.
Shady R is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:39 AM   #3
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shady R View Post
Yes you can make it work.
Actuators, mounting brackets, 2 relay, 30feet of 16 gauge wire.
5wire setup.
connecting to the alarm only is gonna be the easiest way to do this. if you want to incorporate it in the car 100% then your gonna need a lot more labor and parts, if your going that far you might as well do the power locks and windows.you wont need the latches and buttons in other words..
Well all I want is the power locks buttons to work. I'm not trying to transplant doors or anything. I can get the latches from a 4 door (and all its wiring) for free. I have a 3 door.

I'm not trying to tie in the power locks from the four door to the factory remote system or anything like that.

Actually lets just not worry about the alarm (factory or aftermarket). Let just say this... Is there a way that if I get the latches, handles, and buttons, (all with a little bit of wiring from them) can I put them in my car and wire it so that when I push the lock button, both doors lock and unlock?
skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 02:30 PM   #4
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Anyone done this conversion?
skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:05 AM   #5
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Help! Please!!!!!!!
skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:13 AM   #6
tkheaven
Focus Enthusiast
 
tkheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59098
Location: Bergen County, NJ, NJ
What I Drive: 2002 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 348
FF Reputation: 3 tkheaven Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
sounds like a dang good project but I haven't a CLUE on how to do this...
__________________
"possible" cloning of humans - check
"possible" evolution from non-living particles - check
"possible" time travel aka Big Bang machine - check
creating the perfect pres. candidate and send him back eight years ...impossible...
tkheaven is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 11:22 AM   #7
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I know. I really want to do it because it will be all stock parts and only cost me some wire and connections. I just want some advise before I dive into it.
skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:43 PM   #8
Shady R
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fan#: 3138
Location: Sioux Falls South Dakota
What I Drive: Euro 2003 PitchBlack SVT Focus

Posts: 764
FF Reputation: 8 Shady R Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
if you have all the parts needed to do this all i need to know really is what the issue really is then? tieing it in to power in the car or the entire assembly of it from scratch. btw im an electronics engineer and have worked on cars electrical systems for 13yrs, so im very positive its an easy install.
__________________
Bwaha ha ha ha ha ha, Bleach Fan from day 1. 07-2005:: Spoiler:: Aizen is a good guy. Every one dies. Orihime Saves every one. All there memories are erased as if NONE of it happend.
Shady R is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:26 PM   #9
slydarkwolf
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46261
Location: Cali, Sacramento
What I Drive: 2001, Silver, LX

Posts: 267
FF Reputation: 28 slydarkwolf Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey Kid, I did this whole project and together it only took a day. However, I used "ALL OEM PARTS" so I didn't make any harness's for my car. However... it will work, just as long as you have it ground correctly and powered correctly...
__________________
Sometimes Love Happens, Sometimes Love finds you, other times you find Love, but when Love hits you, Just Take it, Love opens many doors and hearts!
Just Remember, Just LOVE!
slydarkwolf is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 09:57 AM   #10
skikid89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60687
Location: Connersville, Indiana
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver Blaupunkt ZX3

Posts: 433
FF Reputation: 6 skikid89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I have the whole harness. But someone had cut the wires going into the doors. I have all the ends so I could splice them all together. Here were my questions. I haven't gotten to tear into the car and check any of this out yet.
1. Are the latching mechanisms and the door key mechanisms a different piece so that I can retain my original key.
2. Does it require the changing of the GEM module. I have heard that talked about, but don't know all that it does. I don't plan on using the factory remote locks (don't have the remotes) so is the GEM necessary.
3. The donor car is an 01 with an SPI and mine is an 03 with a Zetec. Does that make any difference?
skikid89 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power locks and beeping noise aironjack MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 10 10-29-2008 09:30 PM
Convert to power locks ..... windows ryan1428 Ford Focus & General Car Chat 6 10-14-2008 04:57 PM
Fuse for power door locks? gmcjimmy88 General Technical Chat 4 09-05-2008 10:58 PM
Adding Power Locks and Windows from another Focus crabhab MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades 4 01-07-2007 02:46 AM
add power door locks freshmeat SPI Performance (2000-2004) 15 10-20-2003 11:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.