How to remove 2008 Ford Focus Radio - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2008, 06:47 PM   #11
kenzx3
Say NO to FRPP Drops
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 42651
Location: Fallston, MD
What I Drive: '00 ZX3, '03 ZX3, '07 ZX3

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 125 kenzx3 Excellent Standing Member kenzx3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (49)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zx505focus View Post
even if you do this, how are you going to put in a aftermarket radio.
I believe Metra makes a kit already for the 08+ Focus, it was at CES this past year so I'm guessing its out on the market already. Only thing is somebody was saying the cost is gonna be around $80, so he should be good if he buys that.
kenzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2008, 10:32 PM   #12
wolfy659
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56553
Location: Maine
What I Drive: 2008 Red SES

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 wolfy659 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
...but now what?

So I just purchased a 2008 SES today. Love SYNC. Question is, my 00 se had a sony head w/ipod cable to glovebox. Can I do that with the stock unit? Other models seem to have connection thru console. Please advise.
wolfy659 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 09:49 AM   #13
Archion
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Fan#: 53720
Location: Falling Waters, WV
What I Drive: 08 VB SES 2d/99 Mustang/86 F150

Posts: 178
FF Reputation: 6 Archion Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
here is the info on the metra kit...

Metra part # 99-5816

Also, on A/T vehicles you do not need to put your key in the ignition to move the shifter, look to the front right corner of the shifter bezel, you will see a small plastic "block" that pops out, under that is the override button for the shifter interlock, you can stick your key, screwdriver, whatever in there and then move the shifter like normal.
Archion is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2008, 05:15 PM   #14
kenzx3
Say NO to FRPP Drops
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Fan#: 42651
Location: Fallston, MD
What I Drive: '00 ZX3, '03 ZX3, '07 ZX3

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 125 kenzx3 Excellent Standing Member kenzx3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (49)
Gave out a little Rep for that link
kenzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 09:48 AM   #15
whitefox
Focus Fanatic
 
whitefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Fan#: 54401
Location: Orlean, VA
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony CC 2dr coupe SES 5spd

Posts: 2,091
Points 1,961, Level 26
Points: 1,961, Level: 26 Points: 1,961, Level: 26 Points: 1,961, Level: 26
Level Up 61% Completed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 35 whitefox Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfy659 View Post
So I just purchased a 2008 SES today. Love SYNC. Question is, my 00 se had a sony head w/ipod cable to glovebox. Can I do that with the stock unit? Other models seem to have connection thru console. Please advise.

You should be able to plug your iPod directly into the auxiliary port or the USB port.
__________________
Carl - whitefox -
Team Duratec # 164
Mid-Atlantic Team EXTREME
2008 Focus Ebony Clearcoat 2dr SES 5spd
whitefox is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 11:51 AM   #16
02ZX3NJ
Focus Enthusiast
 
02ZX3NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fan#: 56346
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX3

Posts: 140
Points 697, Level 13
Points: 697, Level: 13 Points: 697, Level: 13 Points: 697, Level: 13
Level Up 94% Completed
Level up: 94% Level up: 94% Level up: 94%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 5 02ZX3NJ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitefox View Post
You should be able to plug your iPod directly into the auxiliary port or the USB port.

I dont know if this works with the sync because the website doesnt give me a option for standard or sync radio but www.axxessinterface.com sells the harness and peice for the Ford radios for ipod intergration.

This is the harness you would need
Axxess - AHDH-FD5

And this is the module
AHDI-D01

Here is a link to the documentation relating to that product.
http://documents.victorytechnologies...oduct/9402.pdf

Enjoy.

~Rich~
__________________
02 ZX3 Pitch Black
~Rich~
02ZX3NJ is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2008, 06:43 PM   #17
JCR
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59720
Location: Newfoundland
What I Drive: 2008, Vista Blue, Focus

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 JCR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey guys,
I am new to the site, and let me start by saying that this tread is exactly what i was looking for, thanks. I just have a couple of question. Can i hook up a amp to the factory stereo? Is there a amp turn on lead wire on the back and audio output connection? Thanks to this tread, i now know how to take the stereo out, but i don't want to take everything apart until i know for sure that i can hook up a amp. If someone can post a pic on the back of the stereo, it would be great. Thanks in Advance.

JCR
JCR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2008, 06:58 PM   #18
focusboy5
Focus Fanatic
 
focusboy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50002
Location: Wichita, Kansas, United States
What I Drive: Four Wheels

Posts: 2,859
Points 8,173, Level 61
Points: 8,173, Level: 61 Points: 8,173, Level: 61 Points: 8,173, Level: 61
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 31 focusboy5 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
First off I would like to say welcome

And yes you can wire up an amp. You need to go buy an LOC(Line output converter). You can buy one of these at your local best but or circuit city. Should cost around $30-$40. You will tap into your rear speaker wires behind the stereo. This will give you your RCA's. As for the Turn on, you can just run a wire to a fuse that is in use when the car is on, such as gauges(may work not sure), but something like that. The rest of the amp wiring is normal.

Hope that helps. Rep is always nice.
focusboy5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-12-2008, 09:49 AM   #19
JCR
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59720
Location: Newfoundland
What I Drive: 2008, Vista Blue, Focus

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 JCR Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by focusboy5 View Post
First off I would like to say welcome

And yes you can wire up an amp. You need to go buy an LOC(Line output converter). You can buy one of these at your local best but or circuit city. Should cost around $30-$40. You will tap into your rear speaker wires behind the stereo. This will give you your RCA's. As for the Turn on, you can just run a wire to a fuse that is in use when the car is on, such as gauges(may work not sure), but something like that. The rest of the amp wiring is normal.

Hope that helps. Rep is always nice.
Thanks for the help. I figured that a LOC would be the best way to go but i wasn't sure what to do with the amp turn on. I guess that i will have to try a few different fuse and see if i can get it to work. Thanks again.

JCR
JCR is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2008, 09:44 AM   #20
rebelboy6121987
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58470
Location: Federalsburg MD
What I Drive: 2008, Vista Blue, S coupe

Posts: 117
FF Reputation: 5 rebelboy6121987 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
when i was wiring my amp, i used a LOC from the local radio shop. it was an axxis and so far it has not had any problems. it was easy to install. you can reach the wires from your trunk. what i did was i took out the side panels in the trunk, then opened the back seat. i found the wiring harness that had the speakers in it. If you look closely enough you can see the rear speakers, if you have an 08 coupe. and i followed them to a easy to access location. i spliced the wires from the LOC into these and did the basic amp hook up and it sounds great
rebelboy6121987 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ford Focus Parts List! gthang MK2 Focus 13 01-27-2009 12:05 AM
Need Ford Recall, TSB, or your vehicle history? Click Here! DJ Lukdogg General Technical Chat 368 10-13-2008 06:04 PM
2008 Focus TimHickey Ford Focus & General Car Chat 5 01-11-2007 01:51 PM
2008 Ford Focus US-Spec part 1 mitchlguzin Ford Focus & General Car Chat 9 01-08-2007 06:57 PM
European Focus in late 2008!? AndrewST Ford Focus & General Car Chat 36 09-26-2006 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat