Anyway to Activate Additional Indicators - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2008, 03:18 PM   #1
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Question Anyway to Activate Additional Indicators

While working on my 08 the other day my flashlight beam happened to flash across the radio info display on top of the dash. Wait a minute, what was that I just saw? A closer look revealed more LED displays in there that do not illuminate on my SE model. For instance, the lower left corner has a temperature reading, I'm assuming outside, that doesn't come on. Even the pic below, from Ford, doesn't show it.



Anyone ever played with this and tried to activate those extra indicators hiding in there?


__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2008, 03:53 PM   #2
OCS12
Focus Enthusiast
 
OCS12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Fan#: 52786
Location: Sheboygan, WI
What I Drive: 2005 Sonic Blue ZX4 SES

Posts: 259
FF Reputation: 23 OCS12 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's actually a really simple mod, but the parts are fairly expensive. What you need to do is start by removing the radio display. That's the part you need to save. You can now throw away the rest of the car. Buy a Fusion. Put the display in a Fusion. Done.

The extra LCD's are just so that screen can be recycled in other Ford models. I don't think you can do do anything to activate them.
OCS12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2008, 04:05 PM   #3
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Man and I thought my exhaust was an expensive mod! Yeah, I figured it's just the same radio display they throw in everything, hooking up what they want per model. So if that's true though, those displays are functional. So it should be just a matter of finding out what we need to make them work in other models.

I'll be playing but if anyone has the answer jump right in. Also if you know for sure this is impossible and I'm waisting my time even thinking about it, jump right in too.

It will just bug me as long as I have the car knowing those are in there and I can't use them!
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6

Last edited by BradWhite; 05-21-2008 at 08:43 PM.
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-21-2008, 07:01 PM   #4
honhon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24778
Location: ., United States
What I Drive: a better car than a focus.

Posts: 8,506
FF Reputation: 219 honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member honhon Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (21)
i wish the 07's had something like that... and i really wanna see if the cluster from an 08 will fit in an 07... i love the new clusters...
__________________
http://www.full-race.com/r14-fire-video.html
honhon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2008, 01:11 PM   #5
bdnld4482
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46063
Location: St. Charles IL, IL
What I Drive: 2012 black focus titanium

Posts: 2,334
FF Reputation: 37 bdnld4482 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Talking ha ha

Quote:
Originally Posted by OCS12 View Post
It's actually a really simple mod, but the parts are fairly expensive. What you need to do is start by removing the radio display. That's the part you need to save. You can now throw away the rest of the car. Buy a Fusion. Put the display in a Fusion. Done.

The extra LCD's are just so that screen can be recycled in other Ford models. I don't think you can do do anything to activate them.
this is the funniest thread ive read today. lol just throw away the car . ha ha ha lol
bdnld4482 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2008, 09:53 AM   #6
CaysE
EDM Specialist
 
CaysE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22059
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: Blown red SVT

Posts: 6,581
Points 15,564, Level 80
Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 80 CaysE Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
With some wiring, a few parts and maybe some soldering, I'm sure it can be done. The SVTs have an ice indicator in the auxiliary gauge cluster that doesn't do anything in the US... but it works in the ST170 in Europe. I already bought the sensor; I just have to get an extra harness to cut up so I can wire it in.
CaysE is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2008, 09:57 AM   #7
scrammer
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Member scrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
^^really? wow, never knew that. ill have to look at it today.
is it like in the F-Series? it tells you when there may be ice out? i never seen the point in that thing. its freezing outside...DUH! of course there is the possiblity of ice. for sure one of the most redundant IDIOT lights ever made
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2008, 10:06 AM   #8
CaysE
EDM Specialist
 
CaysE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22059
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: Blown red SVT

Posts: 6,581
Points 15,564, Level 80
Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 80 CaysE Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
It turns yellow at around 5C and red at 0C I believe.



CaysE is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2008, 10:25 AM   #9
BradWhite
Head Hurt
 
BradWhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 54975
Location: University Place, Wa, WA
What I Drive: 08 Sedan SE Vista Blue

Posts: 2,377
FF Reputation: 174 BradWhite Excellent Standing Member BradWhite Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
OK, now you're getting my hopes up. Would you mind letting me know how that goes, if you remember. I took a close look the other day and what I found hiding in the 08 radio information display is;

on the left side (top to bottom):

88.8
fan symbol with increasing bars after it
"Zone" with a couple of boxes after it and "CAL" at the end

on the right side (top to bottom)

88.8
"EXT TEMP"
-188.8

These are all red LEDs, not the blue used for the radio info. I guess I'll need to do exactly what you did and figure out what each one is for and what vehicle (country) they are used in.

If anyone can I.D. them I'd love to hear from you. Let's see, I think I've figured out the fan speed and external temp, but don't know the vehicle yet.
__________________
Best wishes and keep on modding April 2009 SOTM, July 2009 ROTM, 2009 FF ROTY

RIFF CREW, Sedan Revolution #137, TEAM Duratec #181, Bremerton Raceway #658, NW POSSE #6
BradWhite is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2008, 10:59 AM   #10
CaysE
EDM Specialist
 
CaysE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22059
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: Blown red SVT

Posts: 6,581
Points 15,564, Level 80
Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80 Points: 15,564, Level: 80
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 80 CaysE Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
First I had to figure out what cars it did work on (ST170 in my case), and then get the wiring diagrams and part numbers from a Ford parts guy in Europe. I first cross-checked the part numbers with Steve (FORDSVTPARTS) and he managed to find a US part number for the sensor. All I really need now is a spare harness so I can add two pins to the connector that's on my aux gauge cluster harness.

Your first step is to find out what the part number is for your cluster and what other cars it's used on. Then find which of those cars uses the indicator you want to enable. Get the wiring diagrams for that car and go from there.
CaysE is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are ST170 hid headlights available w/o yellow indicators??? socrates General Technical Chat 8 03-05-2007 12:37 AM
WTB RS clear corner indicators rebelyouth Archive 1 09-29-2006 02:00 PM
New Volkswagen Rabbit!! nomoreavril Ford Focus & General Car Chat 30 06-29-2006 12:55 PM
how to remove side repeaters / indicators? adrian_chrome MK1 Focus 3 08-02-2005 09:12 PM
Law on Turn Indicators in Florida? Kamui Fanatics: Florida 5 11-15-2004 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat