How To: Adding an OEM Tachometer Cluster on a 2005-up - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2005, 09:43 PM   #21
Algorhythm
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20623
Location: United Stupid of America, Nauru
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3, 2004 Kawasaki ZX6R 636

Posts: 7,492
FF Reputation: 105 Algorhythm Excellent Standing MemberAlgorhythm Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
How much to get this reprogrammed from a dealership?
Algorhythm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2005, 09:53 PM   #22
Goat Roper
The Godfather
 
Goat Roper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Fan#: 8634
Location: Franklin, WI
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZTS

Posts: 4,404
FF Reputation: 6 Goat Roper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Nice write up Rob
__________________
Scott Sweeney Photography
Goat Roper is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 10:44 PM   #23
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast
 
zxtunerdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19637
Location: murrieta, ca
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by Algorhythm
How much to get this reprogrammed from a dealership?
i don't know if that's possible - if so that's good news.

rob
zxtunerdotcom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2005, 10:45 PM   #24
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast
 
zxtunerdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19637
Location: murrieta, ca
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by Goat Roper
Nice write up Rob
thank man

rob
zxtunerdotcom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 11:02 PM   #25
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast
 
zxtunerdotcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 19637
Location: murrieta, ca
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ff mods - can we put a sticky on this thread? i refer it to people but sometimes they aren't finding it.

thanks.
zxtunerdotcom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 11:48 PM   #26
Foci_Fosho
Focus Fanatic
 
Foci_Fosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 5736
Location: Fremont, Ca
What I Drive: 2003 White zx3 2.3L

Posts: 4,805
FF Reputation: 16 Foci_Fosho Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
done
Foci_Fosho is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:45 AM   #27
haunted_battleship
Focus Enthusiast
 
haunted_battleship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20362
Location: Brampton,Ontario,Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 1999/2001 Subaru LGT/Forester

Posts: 506
FF Reputation: 1 haunted_battleship Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
hey since i have a new motor in my car an my trans has 42k kms an im keepin the car till she's retired would it make a difference to me? LOL lame question but i figured id ask anyways. ya id only do this for gauge face purposes

thanks for the update rob much appreciated
__________________
99' LGT Wagon - EJ20R swap w/twin scroll
01' Forester - Stock/DD
05'ZX3 ( sold to my dad )

Team Duratec # 42
haunted_battleship is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 04:37 PM   #28
Fredness
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26710
Location: Sasquatch Country!!, United States
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud White ZX3

Posts: 409
FF Reputation: 7 Fredness Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
http://www.instrumentclusters.com/ (National)
http://www.tacomaspeedometer.com/ (Tacoma, WA)

...among others...

The cluster can be reprogrammed, but the tool is $7,200!!! You are going to have to do a couple things, first, get a notorized statement that shows the current mileage and then send it to a shop with the new cluster. Most vehicles can be reprogrammed at the dealer through the OBDII port, but not the newer Fords. The CAN-Bus does most of this, so it can ONLY be programmed from the service port on the cluster. You can also ask the person you are getting it from (if it's a company) if they do the recalibration since MANY speedo shops are selling parts like this. I'm working on the pinouts to fix the LED issues, I'll post a fix soon (I Hope). This is VERY high on my list of mods....
__________________
'05 ZX3 ("S") Team Duratec #56
Engine: Modified MBRP Stainless Exhaust, K&N AirCharger, SCT LiveWire (dealer), ScanGauge, poly "dogbone" bushings.
Stereo: '05 Mustang Shaker500 H/U, Polk DB570's and an Infinity BassLink SubWoofer.
Fredness is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 08:51 PM   #29
madison355
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Fan#: 34597
Location: Virginia
What I Drive: 06, CD Silver, ZX3, SE

Posts: 38
FF Reputation: 1 madison355 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I work at a Ford dealer in VA and I bought a new one from them for $220 and filled out a sheet with the dude and they sent it off and I had it back in 3 days. When I installed it, it had my milage on it. I only paid $65 for the reprograming, and there was no DMV involed. Like I said, I'm in VA and don't know if it's the same everywhere.
madison355 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2006, 04:18 PM   #30
guarinox
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
guarinox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Fan#: 27773
Location: Tulsa, Ok
What I Drive: 2005 Sonic Blue ZX3 SE

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 guarinox Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by madison355
I work at a Ford dealer in VA and I bought a new one from them for $220 and filled out a sheet with the dude and they sent it off and I had it back in 3 days. When I installed it, it had my milage on it. I only paid $65 for the reprograming, .....
How about installation, was that as easy as unplug the old one and just plug in the new one?

Do you have the traction control, abs, and brake warning lamps on?, because zxtunerdotcom had that little problem, i mean he fixed it with black tape, but i wonder if there's a way to avoid that, maybe i'm asking too much, but i'd like something as simple as unplug and plug, besides the disassembly and reassembly of course
guarinox is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.