reset ecu - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2003, 12:57 PM   #1
zetec03
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1619
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2003 zx3

Posts: 75
FF Reputation: 1 zetec03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
reset ecu

how do feset my ecu? i have heard of a few ways from friends just wondering which way i should do it. thanks guys


zetec03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 01:27 PM   #2
DJDeeJay
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Fan#: 223
Location: Lake Elmore, VT
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 (White) ATX

Posts: 161
FF Reputation: 1 DJDeeJay Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I BELIEVE that you disconnect the battery for about 5 minutes, hook it back up, than let the start the car and let it idle for about 5 minutes. Pretty sure this is it, but someone will correct me if I'm wrong
DJDeeJay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 02:53 PM   #3
zetec03
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1619
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2003 zx3

Posts: 75
FF Reputation: 1 zetec03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks that is pretty close to heard
zetec03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2003, 03:58 PM   #4
DJDeeJay
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Fan#: 223
Location: Lake Elmore, VT
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 (White) ATX

Posts: 161
FF Reputation: 1 DJDeeJay Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I did this when I first heard about it, it seemed to very slightly clean up my idle. I may have just imagined it though.
I did it again after I had installed my short ram intake, just to make sure that it woudl recognize the difference.
DJDeeJay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 05:54 PM   #5
zetec03
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Fan#: 1619
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2003 zx3

Posts: 75
FF Reputation: 1 zetec03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yeah i did it last night when i installed my headers and it seems to idle alot better still rough at times but alot better
zetec03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 08:45 PM   #6
Spanky6935
Focus Enthusiast
 
Spanky6935's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2327
Location: somewhere else
What I Drive: '00 Green Zx3

Posts: 131
FF Reputation: 1 Spanky6935 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It is always recommended that you reset you ECM after adding a mod do that ECM can imediately take advantage of the modification.

The ECM has a learn procedure which basiclly takes notes of your specific driving style, environment, among may other things.

One thing to note is that after reseting the ECM the ECM will be in relearn mode and may run better or worse for a few days. don't mistake this with a problem with your mod's.
__________________
ASE Certified Technician:

Specializing in Ford Focus' and Ford Escorts

If you have questions, we have answers!

Last edited by Spanky6935; 12-28-2003 at 09:03 PM.
Spanky6935 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 06:59 PM   #7
2ndfocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
2ndfocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Fan#: 221
Location: Brooklyn, NY
What I Drive: cd silver 2000 zetec se

Posts: 123
FF Reputation: 1 2ndfocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What the hell is an ECM and ECU? Please excuse my ignorance, I am here to learn from all the educated ones.
__________________
Stay FOCUSed!!!
2ndfocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 07:19 PM   #8
Spanky6935
Focus Enthusiast
 
Spanky6935's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Fan#: 2327
Location: somewhere else
What I Drive: '00 Green Zx3

Posts: 131
FF Reputation: 1 Spanky6935 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
its just like "you say tomato, I say tomato"

ECM= Engine Control Module
ECU= Engine Control Unit
PCM= Powertrain Control Module

Are almost always used interchangeably.
__________________
ASE Certified Technician:

Specializing in Ford Focus' and Ford Escorts

If you have questions, we have answers!
Spanky6935 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 09:18 PM   #9
oracleguy
Focus Enthusiast
 
oracleguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 73
Location: Hillsboro, OR
What I Drive: 02 Cloud9 ZTS

Posts: 456
FF Reputation: 1 oracleguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah it is basically the computer that manages the engine.
__________________
Kevin
02 Cloud9 ZTS - Windows tinted, Volant Cold Air Intake, FC 65mm Throttle Body, Phoenix Gold speakers, clear corner lenses, fog light mod, 2.25in Magnaflow cat-back exhaust, Redline Tuning hood quick lift kit.

SVT Upper Front Grill and Euro lower grill is up next.
oracleguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 11:48 PM   #10
whiteboyslo
Focus Fanatic
 
whiteboyslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Fan#: 180
Location: SD (PQ)
What I Drive: 04 Pontiac GTO - Yellow M6

Posts: 2,517
FF Reputation: 2 whiteboyslo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
i've heard that you should wait closer to 20-30 minutes. i always disconnect it and hit the brake pedal a couple of times to speed things up. you're basically just waiting for whatever reserve capacity is in the system to die out so that the ECU will completely reset itself.

Mike

PS- watch out for that damn alarm! sometimes it likes to go off when you hook it back up. i've found leaving the alarm in valet mode eliminates that, though.
__________________
just visiting now....
whiteboyslo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reset ECU??? Turbo_SVT420 General Technical Chat 35 08-01-2012 08:23 PM
Reset ECU Tommyswift ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 3 07-30-2005 03:03 PM
ECU reset cct86 ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 3 04-05-2005 07:04 PM
ECU reset? svtfocus954 SVT Performance (2002-2004) 13 03-02-2005 07:41 PM
Allowing ECU to reset after mod installation iwastei General Technical Chat 2 03-08-2004 12:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.