Vehicle will not stay running unless I give it gas.. - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 10:11 PM   #1
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Vehicle will not stay running unless I give it gas..

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and really need some help!! I recently bought a 2001 Ford Focus SE, and it idles real rough.. Runs fine at higher speeds but soon as I lay off the gas and press it again, shake shake gobble google thing runs rough. I bought the car yesterday morning (sat July 13th) and today I went to advanced auto parts and got some goodies for the car. Idle control valve, throttle position sensor, Pcv hose (was closed up) thinking that would take car of the most of the rough idle.. And yes the car dies with the ac is turned on. So I installed all these parts and changed oil and other nick nacks, and now the car is running worse!! NOW IT WON'T STAY ON AT ALL!!!! It takes a couple of try's to get it even started. I've googled and googled with no luck. PLEASE Can anyone help me??? Thank you


Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2013, 10:43 PM   #2
Floodyou76
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105749
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2002 SVT

Posts: 108
FF Reputation: 2 Floodyou76 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
You try asking the person you bought it from?

I would check for vacuum leaks first and foremost...everywhere....IM, TB, PCV, Intake, MAF...all of it. Clean the MAF too, just for S%^$ n Giggles...but check for Vaccuum leaks. if its already running rough, its not surprising that it runs worse with the AC on...its just more drag on the engine.
Floodyou76 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2013, 10:54 PM   #3
Red Jay 918
Focus Fanatic
 
Red Jay 918's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79277
Location: Tulsa, OK
What I Drive: 2010 Focus SE

Posts: 1,863
Points 9,238, Level 64
Points: 9,238, Level: 64 Points: 9,238, Level: 64 Points: 9,238, Level: 64
Level Up 63% Completed
Level up: 63% Level up: 63% Level up: 63%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 7 Red Jay 918 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i say ask the previous owner has he ever changed his fuel filter/pump
Red Jay 918 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2013, 10:59 PM   #4
2003focuzx3
Focus Addict
 
2003focuzx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 92022
Location: everett, WA
What I Drive: 2003 all black ZX3

Posts: 651
Points 1,233, Level 19
Points: 1,233, Level: 19 Points: 1,233, Level: 19 Points: 1,233, Level: 19
Level Up 33% Completed
Level up: 33% Level up: 33% Level up: 33%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 2003focuzx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Jay 918 View Post
i say ask the previous owner has he ever changed his fuel filter/pump
I agree with this

Sent from my DROID RAZR using FF Mobile
2003focuzx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2013, 11:16 PM   #5
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks guys for the fast responses .... Of course with my luck the previous owner doesn't answer my calls any longer. I forgot to mention, I replaced the fuel filter myself today also. I will check for vacuum leaks first thing in morning.

Question: why now that I've changed this things is is running worse than when I drove it home? I drove for over and hour here in Houston Tx with the AC on high, it was running rough. But not like it it now? Spent hours messing with the car today only for it to be worse than when I started..

I will let y'all know how it goes tomorrow with the vacuum leaks. Thank you guys again so much, I really appreciate it
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2013, 12:37 AM   #6
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,335
Points 3,088, Level 34
Points: 3,088, Level: 34 Points: 3,088, Level: 34 Points: 3,088, Level: 34
Level Up 26% Completed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Forum Activity 58%
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
FF Reputation: 25 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fuel pump issues show MORE with load not less, NOT the fuel pump..........he says clearly it runs fine higher up. BUUUUTT..............you can possibly check by filling tank up past 1/2 way. When pump goes bad the problems show up at low levels of fuel, say under 1/4 tank, for sure at 1/8.

OP should question what all he did, should've been improvement there not worse, meaning something later done wrong. First place I'd start is TPS-is car an automatic? If so they sold the wrong TPS for it................as the correct one is not available. Manual trans TPS absolutely will not work on ATX, even if it seems to bolt right up.

Next? How the IAC sealed to intake, was old seal removed, what was used to seal this time? They have a tremendous propensity for sticking the wrong gasket in the IAC boxes it seems.

Don't be afraid to look at your own work critically, it's one of the best tools you have. Unfortunately many absolutely cannot do that. Why they get rid of perfectly fixable vehicles.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 11:41 AM   #7
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, car still at shop.. I replaced the plugs and wires AGAIN, the car idles better now but still has major issue when has is applied. It sputters horribly and makes popping sounds from under hood, with little back fire. When left alone it'll run, I let it sit and idle for over an hour yesterday, but soon as I put into gear BOOM it dies! I tested the fuel pump from the vacuum thing under the hood and the gas shoots out when the key is turned on. I'm stuck at this point.. So I'm leaving it at shop until they can hopefully find the problem.
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 12:20 PM   #8
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,335
Points 3,088, Level 34
Points: 3,088, Level: 34 Points: 3,088, Level: 34 Points: 3,088, Level: 34
Level Up 26% Completed
Level up: 26% Level up: 26% Level up: 26%
Forum Activity 58%
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
FF Reputation: 25 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What motor? If the zetec all you can get is the manual trans TPS, the automatic is not available. Autozone part #TPS274 is for MTX not automatic, the two parts are not compatible and will produce your troubles. Of course other things could too. The automatic one you find that looks different is for the SOHC motor. O'reilly claims automatic one but just try ordering it, a non event.

Bad TPS will screw up idle to where vehicle runs perfectly until you get down around idle, then it spits its' guts out. Have to push down pedal to keep it running. BTDT. They may be able to rig engine to idle but they cannot repeat what must happen as soon as you roll throttle on, or the PROPER increase in volts the TPS provides. The fix for ATX zetec is a new throttle body, Ford modded it fairly early and why no one makes parts for old one, they thought they couldn't sell them. You have to buy the throttle body (and a new connector since old one doesn't work, great work Ford!) to get a proper new ATX TPS. Or...........look at the stickies here for what I did to get around a $200 part. Mine did same as yours in OP but fixed it instantly.

Any mechanic worth his salt can easily measure the TPS voltage to check for the problem................like this..............

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=313092

Last edited by amc49; 07-16-2013 at 08:04 PM.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2013, 07:42 PM   #9
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Shop said I HAVE to have a Motorcraft TPS.. Is this true?
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2013, 10:39 AM   #10
harrison.mike.j
Focus Enthusiast
 
harrison.mike.j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113544
Location: Chilliwack, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2002 Red Focus SE Wagon

Posts: 83
Points 284, Level 5
Points: 284, Level: 5 Points: 284, Level: 5 Points: 284, Level: 5
Level Up 68% Completed
Level up: 68% Level up: 68% Level up: 68%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 harrison.mike.j Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmusick View Post
Shop said I HAVE to have a Motorcraft TPS.. Is this true?
Any time you use aftermarket sensors/electronics you are taking a chance. I've found that with a vent solenoid on my Sunfire as well. Have you checked all of your grounds along the motor, firewall, and fenders? Clean grounds are critical on these cars, a bad connection can cause all kinds of strange drivability issues. It's one of the first things we check when a focus comes in. Guys have spent hours chasing stuff just to find a bad ground on the fender or lift eye.
harrison.mike.j is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.