Installed a New Head Unit with the Metra Dash Kit - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2013, 12:05 AM   #1
anabolina
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82609
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: 2009 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 anabolina Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Installed a New Head Unit with the Metra Dash Kit

I'm a lurker on this forum since I try not to 'say something' unless have something to say. Because I kept referring to this forum, Youtube, and other forums before and during the installation, I decided to post the steps I took to get this done so anyone doing this in the future can see what I did to get my new electronic toy installed. So far I love it(three hours later).

Now I am not good with knowing the specific names for car parts and this is my first car radio installation. It was a lot easier than I expected, but that’s probably related to the harness.

Just FYI if you're wondering about the AppRadio, it's awesome with ARliberator and Android since it mirrors your phone on your radio. This means I can do anything on my radio that I can do on my phone. So far I've only played with it and it works really well. Here's a video of someone else's version of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMJrdADRsEs

I wish I'd taken more pics of the install, but I didn't.



Tools:

Ratchet Wrench-Imperial
Torx and Phillips Screw Driver
Double-Sided Tape
Pliers
Nail File
Scissors
Wire Stripper
Wiring caps?
Double-Sided Tape
Electrical tape
Trim Removal Tools Set
Magnet (to pick up screws when I dropped them)
Old plastic sour cream container to hold screws.
Flashlight
Knife

Parts:

Metra 99-5816 (yes it does leave some space at the top below the air vents)
AppRadio 2(Pioneer SPH-DA100)-double din
PAC RadioPRO4 Radio Replacement Interface RP4-FD11 (for select Ford vehicles)
Parking Brake Override Bypass
40-CR20 CHRY RADIO ANT ADPT CABLE 2002
Android MHL Converter Kit($50, but figured it was worth it)

Tips:
My car made a crazy amount of sound when I was using the parking brake. It freaked me out a bit, so I’d suggest doing this on a level surface or accepting the sound

Don’t forget to keep screws safe so you don't drop them like i did.

Helpful Sites/Videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QTti_HuKkV8
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=147694- Awesome, but stops after you first unclip the middle dash area.

My Steps:

1. The harness and radio wiring totally matched up, so I wired it together in the house and attached the break bypass and antenna adapter at that stage.



2. Convert metra kit to double din my cutting out the thin plastic going across the dins in the kit. I used a serrated knife. I then used a nail file the file down the excess to make it smooth.



3. Assemble android mhl connector set
4. Put car into L gear and raise the parking break as much as possible
5. Disconnect battery cable
6. (freak out about groaning brakes when I get in the car to disconnect stuff) Start pulling up the middle console (cupholders part) of the car beginning at the part nearest the rear seats. Don’t be afraid to bend it since it’s pretty bendy. It’s not really secured on it any way.
7. There are two recessed screws that I needed the ratchet to remove. It’s the screws right beside the cigarette lighters.
8. Now look up and to the left above the speedometer. There are two more screws that need to be ratcheted off.
9. Start peeling out the airbag panel a little bit. It shouldn’t come off completely since it’s held on, but it can come out a little bit.
10. Remove the air conditioner outs above the radio
11. If you look inside at the area below where you took the air conditioner vents out, there are two screws that you should remove
12. Now you can start pulling out the panel the radio’s hooked up to. Start from the bottom.
13. Unscrew the radio and disconnect everything from the back of it. The antenna cable was REALLY hard to remove, I had to really yank it out.



14. Disconnect the remaining connectors from everything connecting to the panel.
15. Unscrew everything from the center dash panel



16. Start pushing everything out of the panel(air con controls, etc)
17. Take the old panel piece out of the card
18. Clip these controls into the new Metra dash kit.
19. Run GPS and Bluetooth from wherever you think best. My gps in on my front dash and the Bluetooth is above the rearview mirror. I ran the cables through the headliner and down the A-pillar. Unfortunately, I may have broken a clip in the A-pillar since the top doesn’t sit flush enough.  I ran the cable back and over the steering wheel and through the small hole on the lower right side of it.
20. Run Mhl stuff wherever you want to connect your phone. I went for the drivers side legroom.
21. Connect mhl hdmi connector to radio
22. Connect connectors to accessories attached to the dash kit(ex: air con controls) and screw them back in
23. Reattach battery cables to test radio. Don’t forget to test everything.
24. Use plastic sides (black in the kit) to attach to the metra kit. I pushed it in to attach it.



25. Connect Bluetooth and GPS attachments to radio
26. Connect the rest of the connectors from the harness to the radio
27. Push the radio through the double din area in the kit
28. Secure the radio with screws from the radio kit which go through the black sides from the metra kit. Also clip the recktangle peice from the kit that goes through the front of the dash it. The thicker side should be on bottom.
29. Attach clips to metra kit(really annoying and hard and I installed them backward since the instruction image is really hard to understand. I only knew it was wrong since it didn’t really attach.
30. Push radio/metra kit back into the dash aligning the clips to the holes in the dash to it should clip right in.
31. Push air back trim piece on right side back down.
32. Ratchet screws in the dash above the steering wheel back in
33. Push air conditioner vents back in



34. Ratchet screws under metra kit back in.
35. Reattach middle console area back. It took a lot of bending to get this right, grrrr.
36. Freak out since have no idea how to fix the A pillar trim which sticks out a bit.

Radio Specific Info:

Getting the radio to work right took some patience. I tried to rush it and it didn’t work

37. Install Appradio app
38. Setup appradio to wrok with the app
39. Download ArLiberator
40. Start ARliberator and connect to radio
41. Tap on the android icon
42. wait unti your phone says server on. Otherwise I find it doesn’t let me use the radio to control my phone.
43. Wait for ARliberator to connect and bring up the calibration dots
44. Now it works. I kept trying to use it before the server was on and it didn’t work.


anabolina is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:18 AM   #2
Snyper
Focus Enthusiast
 
Snyper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96688
Location: Newburgh, NY
What I Drive: 2009 Black SE

Posts: 359
FF Reputation: 2 Snyper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Definitely nice to see this broken down in pics as you did.
The middle console will always need to be bent pretty heavily to get it back into place - Parking brake up as FAR as possible and putting the car in Low Gear helps a bit.
Snyper is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
Nickgt40
Wheel King, Bow Down
 
Nickgt40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Fan#: 40924
Location: Annoying the Liberals, California, United States
What I Drive: 01 Black ZX3, 09 FSWerks SEMA Coupe

Posts: 1,918
FF Reputation: 19 Nickgt40 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Man, that space between the new bezel and the dash is a deal killer for me. I guess it's stock radio until I find a worthy replacement.

Is your car equipped with SYNC?
__________________
Feb 2011 Ride of the Month ~ 2011 Hatch Nation Hatch of the Year ~ 2011 Focus Fanatics Ride of the Year!
Hatch Nation #2
Nickgt40 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 12:05 PM   #4
anabolina
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82609
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: 2009 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 anabolina Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes i have sync but after thinking about it a lot, i decided that having 2 bluetooth systems in my car would be confusing so i bought to pac radio harness that retains steering wheel controls but not sync. Besides the only thing i use with sync is the phone options and so far my radio is doing a good job with it.

Sent from my HTC One S using FF Mobile
anabolina is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:12 PM   #5
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,966
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I can mirror anything with the avh3300 bt I don't need no stinkin app radio LMAO 4s baby :OD whoops sorry this post disappeared then reappeared when I posted below sorry guys :O/
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #6
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,966
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I can mirror anything on mine avh3300 bt.......app radio? we don't need no stinking app radio LOL, 4s baby ftw only problem is the older pioneers don't really favor the android platform to much :( also I just bypassed mine with a relay, the app radio have a gyro?
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:17 PM   #7
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,966
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
and hey ana where did you mount the mic?
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:13 PM   #8
anabolina
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82609
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: 2009 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 anabolina Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ill admit that the $279 price clinched my shopping for me although the 3300 looks like a good hu too.

After some experimentation, basically calling people and moving the mic in the call i ended up with putting it as close to the sync one as possible which is right above the rearview mirror with the wires going through the headlined. Thankfully my brother used some brute force on the a pillar trim just now and its back to normal.

Its about the gap though if i focus on it, it'll drive me crazy. I suppose there's another brand with a kit to try, my current one is missing a couple of clips since they flew away while i was trying to install. Its surprisingly secure anyway.

Sent from my HTC One S using FF Mobile
anabolina is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:53 PM   #9
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,966
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the 3300 is ollllllllld though it's still alive and kicking, I know what you mean about the clips LOL, I can mirror movies live news gps you name it I can do it some people don't know that the 3300 has an app mode :). My car didn't come with sync I put the mic down centered it on the cluster.
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:09 PM   #10
popwarhomie
Focus Enthusiast
 
popwarhomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94974
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 10 Focus coupe / 94 Lightning

Posts: 416
FF Reputation: 1 popwarhomie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
My first metra kit had that gap. The one I just bought has no gap at all.
__________________
2010 Focus SE coupe 5 speed
Pioneer 80prs/AQ2200D/BK800.4/6 PPA mids/4 PH25 tweets/AlphaDamp/Projector retrofit/LED tails/ Walled with 2 DC 18"s
94 Lightning
A lot of mods.
popwarhomie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.