Stereo Questions - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
KyleQ
Focus Enthusiast
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84296
Location: Chisago City, MN
What I Drive: 2008 Focus Coupe 5 Speed

Posts: 461
FF Reputation: 3 KyleQ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Stereo Questions

I went to install my aftermarket door speakers in my 08' Coupe tonight and ran into the fact I need the plugs to hook em up as I don't want to hack up my wiring.

I've got 4 of these-

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-7Rj1aQz...a-682-7cf.html

So I've ordered two sets of these guys-

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_1207105...Harnesses.html

I'll put those in, but they sound so much better with an amp driving them.

FOR NOW I want to run a LOC so I can hook up a sub I've got in my pickup (notice the trend here, stuff laying around)


I want to go one of two routes -

Route 1 -

JBL MS8 or whatever is better: I keep my factory HU and and use this to get wonderful sound of of a factory system.

Route 2 -
I replace the factory HU with a double din player with Nav, maybe a Pioneer AVIC-X940BT (or something like it)

Most of all, with an aftermarket reciever, what happens to the display on top of the dash? Steering wheel controls, Sync?

In addition I've got two E12's and two 300.1 Punch amps to power them with...


__________________
2008 SE Coupe MTX
2000 Contour SVT 3L
MSDS Headers/Weapon-R Y-pipe
Torsen T-2/Clutchnet Stage 3
Fidanza 8lb 131 of 2150
KyleQ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:56 PM   #2
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,047
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Get the PAC unit:

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_541MSFR...-FRD1&skipvs=T

This will keep your sync capability and the upper dash screen.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:01 PM   #3
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
I just installed my LC6i this week! I used to have one of cheap ones but the sound quality I have now with the LC6i is ammmaaazzziinnnggg and I am able to run both a amp for my mids and highs as well as one for my sub. All while keeping the factory headunit and all of its functions in tact(=
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...%5BIgnore%5D=1
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:46 PM   #4
KyleQ
Focus Enthusiast
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84296
Location: Chisago City, MN
What I Drive: 2008 Focus Coupe 5 Speed

Posts: 461
FF Reputation: 3 KyleQ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by crice8 View Post
I just installed my LC6i this week! I used to have one of cheap ones but the sound quality I have now with the LC6i is ammmaaazzziinnnggg and I am able to run both a amp for my mids and highs as well as one for my sub. All while keeping the factory headunit and all of its functions in tact(=
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...%5BIgnore%5D=1
Nice, have any details of the install? I would like to know where you got the speaker inputs from and where you ran things. Thanks!
__________________
2008 SE Coupe MTX
2000 Contour SVT 3L
MSDS Headers/Weapon-R Y-pipe
Torsen T-2/Clutchnet Stage 3
Fidanza 8lb 131 of 2150
KyleQ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:00 PM   #5
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleQ View Post
Nice, have any details of the install? I would like to know where you got the speaker inputs from and where you ran things. Thanks!
After taking the whole dash apart I decided I didn't want to splice into the wires behind there in case I decide to use a plug and play when I do end up installing an aftermarket radio. I tapped into the speaker wires at the kick panels for the speaker inputs and also added in wires for the output to the speakers from the amp. When you take off the kick panels you can access the wires to cut to add input wires for each speaker and to add a wire that runs to the amp for output. And with the LC6 you don't have to run a remote wire for your amps because it creates this by sensing the speaker input(= I already had mine but now my sub amp gets power even when the keys are out before the doors open, where as before it would turn off my amp. By doing it this way you can run all of your wires through the panels at the edge of your carpet down the entire side of the car on both sides. My lc6 is mounted under my rear seat cushion and my amps are on the back of my seat. I will take pics of the lc6 mount for you tommorrow. My component system sounds amazing especially my highs with the tweeters.






__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:03 PM   #6
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Also the LC6i is much cheaper on amazon or other sites. It was $129.99 on sonix last week but the price has gone up since then. I ordered mine Monday for $113 shipped with amazon prime and installed it wednesday in the place of the cheap POS LOC i used last weekend to add in my second amp.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:05 PM   #7
KyleQ
Focus Enthusiast
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84296
Location: Chisago City, MN
What I Drive: 2008 Focus Coupe 5 Speed

Posts: 461
FF Reputation: 3 KyleQ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Awesome - still don't quite understand how you are getting amp power to the speakers. Maybe I've got a mental block, but I'm drawing a blank here.
__________________
2008 SE Coupe MTX
2000 Contour SVT 3L
MSDS Headers/Weapon-R Y-pipe
Torsen T-2/Clutchnet Stage 3
Fidanza 8lb 131 of 2150
KyleQ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:18 PM   #8
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleQ View Post
Awesome - still don't quite understand how you are getting amp power to the speakers. Maybe I've got a mental block, but I'm drawing a blank here.
When I cut the stock wiring i took the side that came from the radio and attached wire going to the LOC. Then I took the other side and attached a wire going to the amp. When I say attached I mean soldered and heat shrinked. Do you get it?
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:24 PM   #9
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
And the reason I did it this way is because we cant just run fresh wires through the door grommets. I dont know if you have looked yet but there is not a typical sleeve that the wires run through for the doors. they are a connector. so the only way you can run new wires is if you drill holes in the doors and I did not want to do that. So I used the exsisting stock wiring and just added new wire from my splice point to my amp and LOC
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:49 PM   #10
KyleQ
Focus Enthusiast
 
KyleQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84296
Location: Chisago City, MN
What I Drive: 2008 Focus Coupe 5 Speed

Posts: 461
FF Reputation: 3 KyleQ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
So I'm going to have to pull my dash all apart to do that? Damnit, I broke a few clips on both door trim pieces and one sail panel piece on the driver's side taking it apart... God only knows what I'll destroy taking the dash apart...

Alright - so to get my speakers amp'd I'll have to do some cutting behind the dash... fun.
__________________
2008 SE Coupe MTX
2000 Contour SVT 3L
MSDS Headers/Weapon-R Y-pipe
Torsen T-2/Clutchnet Stage 3
Fidanza 8lb 131 of 2150
KyleQ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.