Program new key??? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 06:19 PM   #1
murraypaultec
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108946
Location: Harbor City, CA
What I Drive: 2003 grey ZX5

Posts: 8
FF Reputation: 1 murraypaultec Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Program new key???

I just bought a new key from the Ford dealer for my '03 Focus. I didn't want to pay the $80 to have them program it. All the instructions I have found on programming a new key require you to have two programmed keys. I have only one programmed key (hence the reason for buying a second one). Can you program it if you only have one existing key?


murraypaultec is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 19,802
FF Reputation: 267 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Nope, I'm afraid not. You'll have to pay $80 to have it programmed. I'd call around to other Ford dealers and see if you can find one that has a lower charge for programming.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:05 PM   #3
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,525
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Another good reason to read the owner's manual, while one still has two keys........
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:06 PM   #4
mikeeshaq
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72526
Location: Sugar Land,TX ex MN, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Transit Connect

Posts: 1,017
FF Reputation: 15 mikeeshaq Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The reason that it takes two keys to start programming it to prevent a valet or somebody else from just copying the key
Whether dealer or locksmith both will REQUIRE copy of title, insurance and your ID and all three must match
mikeeshaq is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:48 PM   #5
worfz
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98426
Location: Manchester, NH
What I Drive: 2003 SE Sedan 2.3L PZEV

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 worfz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I found a locksmith that was able to clone the transponder code of my single key onto a special key with a battery in it for $55 (for the key and the programming) in New Hampshire. That way no reprogramming of the car was necessary. I believe the standard PATS keys don't use batteries, just passive rfid chips.

If you're using standard PATS keys and you only have one key you'll need to have a dealer plug a computer into the car to do it.
worfz is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Squareleft
Focus Enthusiast
 
Squareleft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 33224
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 01 zx3

Posts: 126
FF Reputation: 1 Squareleft Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
not to hijack this thread but please confirm this. an 01 focus does not have an immobilizer correct?
Squareleft is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:16 PM   #7
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,525
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It should.........
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:05 PM   #8
murraypaultec
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108946
Location: Harbor City, CA
What I Drive: 2003 grey ZX5

Posts: 8
FF Reputation: 1 murraypaultec Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have an '01 Explorer and it has the PATS key (the one with the chip in it). I would expect that the '01 Focus does too. I think Ford started doing that key with the separate fob in the late '90s.
murraypaultec is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.