Cigar lighter and reverse lights not working...help please - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 03:18 PM   #1
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Cigar lighter and reverse lights not working...help please

Ok so my dad gave me his old radar detector and I went to power it up but nothing. Tried the radar in my girlfriends car and it powered on no problem. So I bought new fuses, installed them and still nothing. I haven't used the little cigar lighter power point for about a month so I'm not sure when it stopped working. Other than that my radio, aux input and everything else works great. Any one have any ideas?

Also both of my reverse lights stopped working. Changed the fuse on those and nothing, but I'm installing new bulbs to see if its just a weird coincidence that they both went out at or around the same time.



Last edited by drummer829; 01-01-2013 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Wrong word
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:35 PM   #2
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,413
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
The reverse light is most likely a reverse switch gone bad. Happened in my focus. It's a cheap part, I forgot how much the fix cost. Don't know about the cigar lighter, a fuse would definitely make the most sense.

Heres a how to on the reverse switch.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=160808

Good luck!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:42 PM   #3
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Could it be because I already have my PIE aux hooked up using that power source and there's not enough for the radar?

EDIT: nope that's not it.. I disconnected the aux and still nothing
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:54 PM   #4
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i took a picture to try and help you guys help me. as you can see the PIE power cable is wired with the black wire of the power outlet. I unplugged that and still nothing. I was thinking maybe it was the the power outlet itself or that orange outlet piece. i googled for a replacement power outlet but couldnt find anything, does anyone have a link to get one.

[IMG][/IMG]
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:33 PM   #5
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,172
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
The outlet is very simple, just get your voltmeter or test light and check for voltage on the wires that supply the outlet.

The black wire you Tee'd into is just a ground wire.
Test with a test light between the colored wire and another ground, to see if that black wire is no longer making a good connection to ground.

The colored wire is on fuse #47 a 20 amp, behind dash, and that is after a 40 amp fuse #7 under the hood

I have no idea what a "PIE aux" is, or why you would have Tee'd into the ground wire on a 20 amp circuit for it.
The cigar lighter is the simplest circuit on a car. You have a fused hot lead, and a ground wire.
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:46 PM   #6
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Only problem is that I don't have one :( ... Is there any place I could use one lol
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:52 PM   #7
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,172
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If you don't have a multimeter or even a test light (light bulb with two wires) then you have no business whatsoever digging into your car's wiring harness, modifying it, or trying to repair it.

You might as well ask how to replace your brake rotors without any tools, it just isn't going to happen.
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 07:00 PM   #8
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsolo View Post
If you don't have a multimeter or even a test light (light bulb with two wires) then you have no business whatsoever digging into your car's wiring harness, modifying it, or trying to repair it.

You might as well ask how to replace your brake rotors without any tools, it just isn't going to happen.
Well I took it out to take the picture and to check if anything was loose or anything like that but no luck
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:38 PM   #9
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,172
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
How did that splice on the black ground wire get there?
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 11:34 PM   #10
drummer829
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Fan#: 71497
Location: Romeoville, IL
What I Drive: 2005 liq grey ST

Posts: 285
FF Reputation: 1 drummer829 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsolo View Post
How did that splice on the black ground wire get there?
i had a mechanic friend install the PIE aux interface thing for me and thats how he did it. I was charging my phone out of it no problem about a month ago, but now im not sure.

so im probably going to go out tomorow and buy a voltmeter, so how do i check the red/yellow wire and the ground wire?
drummer829 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.