Looking to do battery relocation. - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > DURATEC Performance (2003-2011)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2011) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 02:16 PM   #1
PowerFocer
Focus Addict
 
PowerFocer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 61706
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2010 Sedan SE

Posts: 600
FF Reputation: 2 PowerFocer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Looking to do battery relocation.

I'm looking at doing a battery relocation similar to this http://www.iwsti.com/forums/how-inst...ine-trunk.html

The only real differences is that I would be running a sealed box and have harness protector running along the entire length as sealed up as I could get it. Anyone have experience and good/bad reviews on this? Looking for a bit better weight balance.


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeeAsp View Post
Rule of thumb:
NEVER trust anyone with your car or your girl.
Either way, you could get a rod thrown in both.........
Fast cars make smart people do dumb things
PowerFocer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 1,973
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
I've looked into this and it's not a difficult mod. The only issue with doing this on the 08+ is the ECU location. The ECU uses the stock battery box as a mounting point. If you move the battery then the ECU is kinda hanging out under the engine bay.

You would need to make some kind of custom mount for the ECU.
__________________
Finishing up the winter projects.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 01:55 AM   #3
PowerFocer
Focus Addict
 
PowerFocer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 61706
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2010 Sedan SE

Posts: 600
FF Reputation: 2 PowerFocer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
I've looked into this and it's not a difficult mod. The only issue with doing this on the 08+ is the ECU location. The ECU uses the stock battery box as a mounting point. If you move the battery then the ECU is kinda hanging out under the engine bay.

You would need to make some kind of custom mount for the ECU.
Shouldn't be difficult, but thanks I didn't even think of that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeeAsp View Post
Rule of thumb:
NEVER trust anyone with your car or your girl.
Either way, you could get a rod thrown in both.........
Fast cars make smart people do dumb things
PowerFocer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 02:03 PM   #4
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 6,970
FF Reputation: 47 felixthecat Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerFocer View Post
Shouldn't be difficult, but thanks I didn't even think of that.
Add a Braille battery if you looking for weight reduction. They start at 6lbs. T.R. has 10 difference versions of them. Plus also the weight of the battery cable too.
__________________
Interduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
warneej
BodyKits=PantiesDrop
 
warneej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20372
Location: Bradenton, FL
What I Drive: 04 ZX3 D23E-10SES Sedan-12 Ti Hatch

Posts: 13,166
FF Reputation: 200 warneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Mine is in the hatch in my ZX3. Used high quality 4ga amplifier wiring to connect it with a 150 amp circuit breaker mounted at the positive terminal.
__________________
Disciple of the "Push harder, suck less" school of autocross.

173.4whp
gump
crew #6
warneej is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 1,924
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by warneej View Post
Mine is in the hatch in my ZX3. Used high quality 4ga amplifier wiring to connect it with a 150 amp circuit breaker mounted at the positive terminal.
You have a 150 amp breaker inline to your battery terminal?

Cranking amperage can be five times that high.

I put the battery in the trunk on my Chevelle 20 yrs ago.
2/0 copper cable
I added a ford starter relay in the trunk so the battery cable is not an unfused constant hot cable. The cable only goes hot when cranking, the rest of the car is supplied off a 10ga wire that has a fuseable link.
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:49 PM   #7
warneej
BodyKits=PantiesDrop
 
warneej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20372
Location: Bradenton, FL
What I Drive: 04 ZX3 D23E-10SES Sedan-12 Ti Hatch

Posts: 13,166
FF Reputation: 200 warneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Memberwarneej Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elsolo View Post
You have a 150 amp breaker inline to your battery terminal?

Cranking amperage can be five times that high.

I put the battery in the trunk on my Chevelle 20 yrs ago.
2/0 copper cable
I added a ford starter relay in the trunk so the battery cable is not an unfused constant hot cable. The cable only goes hot when cranking, the rest of the car is supplied off a 10ga wire that has a fuseable link.
Negative. Have a starting test done on your vehicle, most car starters pull in the 100-140 amp range. If the testers sees even over 200 amp it will ask if the vehicle is a diesel and when you select "No" it will inform you that your starter is shorted and bad.
__________________
Disciple of the "Push harder, suck less" school of autocross.

173.4whp
gump
crew #6
warneej is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:10 AM   #8
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 1,924
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Normal current draw on a BBC starer is 400 at first, then drops down to about 250 amps.


This is the specs on the (factory chevy hi-torque) starter in my car with a trunk mounted battery:

starter type pg260
model delco
rated power 104kw
rated voltage 12.00v
free run speed 3006rpm
free run current 50 amp
max of power 1.89kw
max of torque 23.36nm
max of current 606 amp
ripple 4 amp
direction cw
hold current 10 amp
pull current 38 amp
voltage drop .3586 v
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.