2012 focus with sony upgrade retain stock headunit & aftermarket speakrers\amp - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Exclamation 2012 focus with sony upgrade retain stock headunit & aftermarket speakrers\amp

Hey there,

I have a customer with a '12 focus and the upgraded sony system. before i dig into his car i was trying to do some reasearch and i was not comming up with much!

I dont know how many people have upgrade to an aftermarket amplifier\subwoofer\speaker setup, but that is what we are doing.

we are trying to retain the stock headunit

and i will be installing an arc audio xdi805, german meistro concept component speakers up front, and a custom fiberglass box for a sundown audio SA8v2.

before i make him buy some line output converter and anything else, i was interested to know if the sony headunit has low level phono outputs (RCA connectors) - or does it only have high level speaker outputs?

basically i am interested to know what signal goes from the stock radio to the stock amplifier. if i can tap into that, and it outputs low level RCA signal that an aftermarket amplifier can use, i do not need a line output converter. if it is not - then i need to know if i need to tap in before, or after the stock amplifier.

other than that i have all my bases covered.

maybe if anyone has images of behind the sony radio, that would also be helpful before i take his car apart.

thanks guys.
andrew


diymobileaudio [dot] com/forum


rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-19-2012, 02:25 PM   #2
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You basically have to use the high level outputs coming out of the sony amp, which is located in the trunk or rear hatch area under the spare tire cover in the upper left hand corner of the foam spacer block.

Give this thread a read it will give you a jump start on wire locations

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291735

The focus only has one center channel (in the front) and one sub, hence the 10 speakers versus 12 in the fusion, and the wire colors are most likely different.

Most likely you will not have to rip into the dash at all, just the doors and trunk or hatch area.
__________________
13 Blue Flame F150 FX4 402A on 20's loaded
13 Frosted Glass Escape Ti 401A loaded
13 Performance Blue SE 201A
14 Dark Side Fusion SE 200A
L-CCC #18/HOIA #37
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i read somewhere that the factory headunit has low level subwoofer outputs. is that also true? if it is then i only need 2 channels from the LOC out of the amplifier for the front speakers.

otherwise i need 3 channels on the LOC for the stock sony sub\amp.

i just need to come up with a solution for it this week. at this point im having him get two LOC's - a single channel and a dual channel unless somone can identify if the stock headunit does have a subwooder output.

thanks guys.
rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 01:04 PM   #4
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I know on my fusion there was no low level outputs on the back of the head unit, most likely the focus has the same setup. Basic LOC's are not expensive, just get three of them and be done with it.
Posted via FF Mobile
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 01:06 PM   #5
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Bleed Ford Blue View Post
I know on my fusion there was no low level outputs on the back of the head unit, most likely the focus has the same setup. Basic LOC's are not expensive, just get three of them and be done with it.
Posted via FF Mobile
that was the plan. i just wanted to make sure that there was no subwoofer output so i knew what he needed.

the plan is an audio control LC6i. should be perfect.

thanks a bunch. i will post what i can on here as far as information i glean from taking his car apart :)
rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2013, 01:33 PM   #6
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
sorry i never posted pictures. here is what i ended up doing.

i found that the stock radio does not have a built in volume. it sends its low-level signal for the front, rear, and sub via an rca-type cable into the sony amplifier, and the volume is controlled inside the amplifier. you CAN take these signals and input them directly into an aftermarket amplifier, but you will have no way to control the volume unless you got some sort of resistance based circuit, or a digital interface with the headunit of some kind to deal with it... so i ended up using a line output converter for simplicitys sake - and the fact that i had a real nice one on hand.

this looks to be the harness with the signal wires (with thick black shielding to the right) and whatever digital control for the other wires. when i tested the line level wires from the headunit - the voltage would never change with the volume roll, but when i tested the amplifiers output wires, the voltage would change with the knob. if i unplugged this plug - the volume knob would no longer do anything, there would be no sound from the speakers, and on the display - the indication of the volume going up and down would no longer appear. these are my reasons for not messing with it - i deduced the amplifier has a volume control on output side. :p



this is the factory amplifier;



factory subwoofer;



i built a ported fiberglass enclosure for a sundown SD-8 V2 subwoofer. about 1.5 cubic feet tuned to 35hz.









this is the amp rack. it consists of the stock amplifier. the speaker outputs from that were disconnected from the speakers, and put into an audio control LC8i line output converter \ preamp, and then the signal was fed to an arc audio xdi805 amplifier to drive the subwoofer with about 400w@2ohm, and the front speakers - a pair of german meistro 6.5" components. sorry they are a bit blurry.







the false floor is pressure-fit wood with risers on the left, right and center. it is about 100 times better fitment than the stock floor - i cant believe how poor of a job ford did making that cardboard\carpet piece.



rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2013, 04:25 PM   #7
ArcticGabe
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86046
Location: SE Mich, MI
What I Drive: 2013 SE Hatch MTX

Posts: 36
FF Reputation: 1 ArcticGabe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Very nice work! Looks very professional.

Only one question, do you have to pull the sub out to change the right rear tail lamp?
ArcticGabe is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2013, 08:46 AM   #8
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcticGabe View Post
Very nice work! Looks very professional.

Only one question, do you have to pull the sub out to change the right rear tail lamp?
yes. i would have to remove the speaker from the enclosure, and then the bolts that held down the stock subwoofer were used to secure the aftermarket one that we had built.
rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2013, 08:53 AM   #9
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i got a PM, here is my reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfwfiveoh
Hi rreeqq,

Was the wiring directions attached to your audio upgrade post by I Bleed Ford Blue correct for the focus? If not, can you tell me how you wired your amp to the LC8i? I'm about to do the same thing. Thanks
hey there. the amplifier has a plug that outputs the speaker-level signal directly to each speaker. there are two wires for the left driver side tweeter, left driver side 6.5 woofer, ect.

what i did, was using a 1.5v AA battery, i soldered a wire to the + side and the - side, and touched the pins in the connector (after looking at the wire colors behind the speakers in the doors). when you touch the battery to the pin, the speaker will make a clicking noise *DO NOT HOLD THE BATTERY THERE* just tap it. that will give you the wire from the trunk to the speaker. i then cut them with plenty of slack on each side and put male and female quick disconnect connectors on them, so that i could easily put the setup back to its OEM condition. i then took the side that goes to the speaker, and made a small pigtail that could reach the amplifier terminals. the other side that goes out of the amp i put into the line output converter. it was super simple.

i really wish i could use the low level outputs from the headunit - but if i did that there was no volume control because that happens inside the sony amplifier. so the signal BEFORE the amplifier is always at 100% volume and there is no way to change it unless you built your own volume controller for it.
rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2013, 09:06 AM   #10
rreeqq
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105047
Location: virginia beach, VA
What I Drive: 2012 blue focus

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 rreeqq Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
and another PM;

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfwfiveoh
rreeqq,

I have a 2013 Focus Titanium and I want to do the exact thing with my cars audio that you did. Do you have measurements for the base of your subwoofer enclosure? If not, how did you measure the base of the enclosure to cut the wood part to fit flush against the wall? I can see that the right part follows the form of the foam insert. I'm just curious how you measured toward the wall. Thanks. Also, you did a phenomenal job!

Doug
there are a few tools and materials that you could use to do what i did. mostly your imagination.

cardboard
sharp razorblade
marker
masking tape
compass
pencil
contour tools**
beer

**there are tools MADE for getting contours - a CONTOUR TOOL is one of them. another is a flexible curve template tool. if you dont have either one of these - i will tell you a simple way to do this.

first things first. you want to get some cardboard, and cut it real rough to the shape of your trunk corner or wherever you want your template to fit. once its kind of the same there should be gaps here and there or whatever.

then, using your masking tape, and other pieces of scrap cardboard - tape\cut smaller pieces to fit into the biggest gaps. once you are as close as you can get it we go to the next step.

type A - find a real big washer and trace the contour of the wall of the trunk like this -



type B - get a pencil or marker (i like the fat sharpies) and tape a strip of cardboard about 2" long to the side of it perpindicular and drag the end of the cardboard along the wall to copy the contour onto the cardboard. you could also use a compass like so;



more in this link -
http://www.secondchancegarage.com/public/259.cfm

once your line is drawn - use a sharp razor to cut the cardboard out, and then repeat and tape the pieces together until you make one big template of the trunk.

place this onto a piece of wood, trace the template, and cut it with a jig saw!

drink beer.
i hope that helps.

btw, you can buy automotive carpet at walmart - but it is very stiff. try jo-anne-fabrics for un-backed carpet that can stretch around contours if you are doing a fiberglass box. i recommend at least using 3m super77 adhesive *READ THE DIRECTIONS* you need to spray BOTH surfaces and wait until the glue solvent evaporates - THEN put the carpet on. when doing carpet work - use a brand new razor blade. it will make your life a whole lot easier.
rreeqq is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.