Metra Axxcess ASWC Install - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,273
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Metra Axxcess ASWC Install

Hi All,

Couldn't find a write up for visual learners like myself, so I figured I'd make one. This is how to install a Metra Axxcess ASWC in a 2006 ZX4... Or about as close as I can come to doing it right with virtually no electrical skills. Feel free to critique, as I'm sure some folks will know how to do this better than I. Also, if you follow these instructions and mess something up, don't blame me!

First thing I did (obviously) was remove the stock head unit. Removal was pretty simple. That part, I'm fairly sure most folks can manage without pictures.

Next, I installed the aftermarket wiring harness. I just used 18-22 butt splices. Also, pretty easy. Just match up the colors unless the instructions state otherwise. (pic is at the bottom)

Now for the ASWC.
Hook up the Green and White cable from the Axxess Unit to pin 18, and the power to pin 2. Ground will go to pin 19. I just used quick splices, which worked fine for me.


This is how it should look finished:

(ignore the duct tape, it was just to keep the latches on the quick splices down)

Now, if you look, you'll discover that pin 19 (the ground for the ASWC) is not actually grounded!


It used to ground through the stock stereo, so you have to make a new ground. I believe we crimped both the new wire that now grounds the stock harness and the ASWC ground into the same unit.


There are several places you can ground to. I used the screws that secure the unit that holds the head unit in place. However, I would probably recommend the hole at the bottom of the picture that's circled. It's solid metal. You just need to find a screw and nut that will fit.



And this is what the end product should look like!


Its kinda ugly, and soldering would probably be a way better route to go, but for those of us who don't have the tools, skills, or money to go that route, this way works pretty darn well too. The Metra Axxcess AWC I used automatically detected and programmed my Sony radio functions perfectly, so unfortunately, if yours doesn't, I can't help you there. Good luck!


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02

Last edited by matmatician; 10-04-2012 at 11:39 PM.
matmatician is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:16 AM   #2
qweesy
Focus Addict
 
qweesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12042
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2004 focus Duratec 2.3 RS (DEAD)

Posts: 961
FF Reputation: 2 qweesy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
awesome thank you
qweesy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:05 AM   #3
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,273
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
No problem!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:42 PM   #4
ABallew6
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 111114
Location: Alexandria, VA
What I Drive: 04 black SVT

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 ABallew6 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey, quick question where did you pick up your quick splices, and what gauge are they?

Thanks a bunch.
ABallew6 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:41 PM   #5
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,273
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If memory serves right, I believe I got the quick spliced at Home Depot, and I wanna say they were 18-20 gauge, although they may have been 20-22.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:43 PM   #6
ABallew6
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 111114
Location: Alexandria, VA
What I Drive: 04 black SVT

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 ABallew6 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sweet, thanks a bunch. I saw 14-16s at auto zone. I'll just ask someone up there. I know I needed 16 gauge wire for the ground so, I'm guessing 16 gauge there too but I'm probably wrong.
ABallew6 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,273
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Ground wire is a bit bigger so yea, I'd say 16 is a safe bet there
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:57 PM   #8
ABallew6
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 111114
Location: Alexandria, VA
What I Drive: 04 black SVT

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 ABallew6 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
true, well I will try a couple. The worst that will happen is I blow a fuse right?
ABallew6 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 04:11 PM   #9
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,273
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Yup, but I doubt that will happen. Just make sure you're using a 10amp fuse!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.