Sync directions download incomplete - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 11:21 AM   #1
Clemenza
Focus Rookie
 
Clemenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99121
Location: Elmhurst, IL
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Sedan

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 Clemenza Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sync directions download incomplete

Having issues with 2012 Focus non-NAV system using Sync to download directions. voice prompts and audio work fine. Once it finds the address the system returns a message saying download incomplete. Tried several times. Not a mobile phone/cell signal issue. I went through master reset with Ford Sync rep- same problem.

Anyone else have to take Focus back to dealer to have a "hard reset"? battery or power disconnect, then reinstall control software?


Clemenza is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2012, 05:04 PM   #2
francobry
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101489
Location: Kansas City, MO
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Titanium 5-door

Posts: 3
Points 5, Level 1
Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 francobry Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm experiencing the same issue. The download worked for me one time when I first got the car and has yet to work again. I was going to call the In-Vehicle Technology line at Ford and troubleshoot with them. Is that what you've already done?
francobry is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2012, 10:48 AM   #3
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 951
Points 2,145, Level 27
Points: 2,145, Level: 27 Points: 2,145, Level: 27 Points: 2,145, Level: 27
Level Up 97% Completed
Level up: 97% Level up: 97% Level up: 97%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey, Clemenza and francobry -

I'd like to look into this! Who's your cell phone carrier? If you haven't done so already, I recommend removing the battery from your phone for about 30 seconds. This will reset the Bluetooth chip within the device. Once this is complete, try downloading directions again.

I look forward to your replies. :)

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2012, 03:14 PM   #4
francobry
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101489
Location: Kansas City, MO
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Titanium 5-door

Posts: 3
Points 5, Level 1
Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 francobry Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you for your reply Jaclyn. My carrier is T-Mobile and I use a MyTouch 4G (HTC Glacier). I will try the battery pull today.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FordIVTteam View Post
Hey, Clemenza and francobry -

I'd like to look into this! Who's your cell phone carrier? If you haven't done so already, I recommend removing the battery from your phone for about 30 seconds. This will reset the Bluetooth chip within the device. Once this is complete, try downloading directions again.

I look forward to your replies. :)

Jaclyn
francobry is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 07:47 AM   #5
Clemenza
Focus Rookie
 
Clemenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99121
Location: Elmhurst, IL
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Sedan

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 Clemenza Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
sync direction download

Already did all that- twice! Using a Blackberry Curve on Verizon. Master reset doesn't help. Ford dealer clueless. Had the car all day, told me "bluetooth wasn't turned on". That's B.S. since the phone worked fine.

Sync rep told me they would have to do a fuse pull ( I suspect disconnect main power and wipe KAM). Back to dealer on Monday.

BTW- for no reason, at random times, the system will suddenly issue a turn-by-turn direction for a previous route.
Clemenza is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 10:35 AM   #6
francobry
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101489
Location: Kansas City, MO
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Titanium 5-door

Posts: 3
Points 5, Level 1
Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1 Points: 5, Level: 1
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 francobry Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemenza View Post
BTW- for no reason, at random times, the system will suddenly issue a turn-by-turn direction for a previous route.
Happens to me too. I'm about to head out, I'll send a destination to my car and see if it works.

Last edited by francobry; 07-22-2012 at 10:36 AM. Reason: grammar, oops
francobry is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 01:35 PM   #7
Clemenza
Focus Rookie
 
Clemenza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99121
Location: Elmhurst, IL
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Sedan

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 Clemenza Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ford dealer was no help. They basically go through experimental trial and error while using your fuel to run the engine, which really isn't necessary.

Reset Blackberry to disable encryption. Directions downloads then complete. I also have Wi-Fi turned off, but frankly I'm not sure whether that was coincidental and I didn't try it with Wi-Fi ON.

Blackberry forums have a ton of other users with Sync issues, but there is no common thread to Focus or phone type. Mine is a BB Curve 8530- standard corporate issue POS.
__________________
Tuxedo Black, Black Cloth
Handling Pkg, 18" wheels, Michelin Sport 3
No NAV, who needs it with Sync Service ?
Clemenza is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2012, 03:38 PM   #8
slconline
Focus Rookie
 
slconline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103617
Location: Acworth, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Titanium

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 slconline Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm having this same problem right now. I use an iPhone 4S with AT&T. Thought it was the phone, but I suspect not after reading this. I'm pretty frustrated. Any suggestions or resolutions since last message here?
slconline is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2012, 03:56 PM   #9
Risa.Simon
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101935
Location: Stafford, VA
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Focus Hatchback

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 Risa.Simon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
From the extremely helpful Jaclyn:

Although you'll have to pair your phone again once this is complete, I recommend resetting your system.

To do so, press the clock and go through the following menu sequence: SETTINGS > SYSTEM > MASTER RESET

Before pairing your phone again, remove the battery from your device. This will reset the Bluetooth chip.

If you need helping with pairing, check out our support page:

http://Support.Ford.com/sync-technol...our-phone-sync
Risa.Simon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2012, 04:43 PM   #10
slconline
Focus Rookie
 
slconline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103617
Location: Acworth, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Silver Titanium

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 slconline Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks Risa! I'm going to try the reset, but can't take the battery out of my iPhone. Stupid apple.
slconline is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.