What happens if you have no TPMS? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2011, 01:15 PM   #1
SevanC
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89503
Location: NW Chicagoland, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 04 Miata, 99 VFR, 30 64C

Posts: 41
FF Reputation: 1 SevanC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What happens if you have no TPMS?

At some point, I'm going to buy snow tires on their own wheels. If I don't put TPMS on the new wheels, what will happen? Am I going to be annoyed by a warning every time I turn the car on?

After 28 years of driving, I think I have learned to spot/feel a flat tire on my own. Of course there's also the secondary indicator of a catastrophic tire failure: the guard rail you hit.


SevanC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:21 PM   #2
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
For the first 3-4 days nothing will happen and you will think life is good, and you might even wonder if these sensors even worked, then somewhere between 3-4 days,

Every time you start the car the center display will display a fault message with your TPMS sensors, followed by buzzing and pinging sounds.

There will be an additional flat tire indicator in the speedo gauge flashing on and off for a couple of minutes then it will turn solid.

And finally there will be an error message between the fuel gauge and temp. gauge.

This will go on and on every time you restart the car.

I lasted about 20 minutes in a line up and I then pulled over and reset my sensors.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:36 PM   #3
DougC
Focus Addict
 
DougC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86547
Location: York, PA
What I Drive: The biggest mistake I've ever made.

Posts: 559
FF Reputation: 1 DougC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
TPMS…. yet another useless cradle to the grave protective regulation compliments of the nanny state.
__________________
1/15/2014.... Back in the shop baby! For those keeping score at home, this is day number 86!

2012 Ingot Silver Focus SE 5spd w/ Sport and Winter pkgs.
DougC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 12:17 PM   #4
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,738
FF Reputation: 10 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by e350 coupe View Post
Every time you start the car the center display will display a fault message with your TPMS sensors, followed by buzzing and pinging sounds....There will be an additional flat tire indicator in the speedo gauge flashing on and off for a couple of minutes then it will turn solid... And finally there will be an error message between the fuel gauge and temp. gauge.

This will go on and on every time you restart the car.
Would you consider this unbearable? I'm debating whether or not I can justify spending the extra $200 on the sensors. It might be worth it and it saves me from having to get them mounted later.

Your thoughts?
PratoN is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 12:34 PM   #5
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I lasted about 25 minutes in the Costco gas line up, afterwards in the pouring rain I pulled over and reset all the sensors. Yes I would consider this unbearable.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 12:56 PM   #6
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,738
FF Reputation: 10 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by e350 coupe View Post
I lasted about 25 minutes in the Costco gas line up, afterwards in the pouring rain I pulled over and reset all the sensors. Yes I would consider this unbearable.
It buzzed and pinged for 25 minutes!?

EDIT: OR was that just because you continued to start/stop your car when creeping in line?

EDIT^2: I've decided I'm going to save myself $245 and deal with it. (Assuming tire rack $42/sensor plus the $45 reset tool and for some reason extra shipping)

Last edited by PratoN; 11-01-2011 at 02:34 PM.
PratoN is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:13 PM   #7
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I enquired with the maker of this kit

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...#ht_2019wt_770

if they would work on the new 2012 Focus's with their TPMS, to which they replied

Dear th-1,

yes it will

- blueovalindustries
Click "respond" to reply through Messages, or go to your email to reply


The reset tool is useful, not just when you want to change wheels, but also when you want to change air pressure, say you decided to run your factory 18"s at 44 psi instead of 39 psi, all you do is set the tires to correct pressure and then put car into learn mode and have the vehicle learn the new tire pressure.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:18 PM   #8
e350 coupe
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84808
Location: White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
What I Drive: 2010 E-350 Coupe/2012 Titanium Htbk

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 5 e350 coupe Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PratoN View Post
It buzzed and pinged for 25 minutes!?

EDIT: OR was that just because you continued to start/stop your car when creeping in line?

EDIT^2: I've decided I'm going to save myself $245 and deal with it. (Assuming tire rack $42/sensor plus the $45 reset tool and for some reason extra shipping)
I posted the above identical unit to which I used, and my interaction with the supplier.

As for your question it goes through this annoying startup sequence every time you start the car. The main center display does go out if you hit OK however the other 2 warning symbols remain on all the time and do not go out. I only endured 25 minutes of this before resetting my new tpms sensors on my dedicated winter tires.
e350 coupe is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #9
Julian@TireRack.com
FF Affiliate
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102247
Location: South Bend, IN
What I Drive: N/A

Posts: 161
FF Reputation: 2 Julian@TireRack.com Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PratoN View Post
EDIT^2: I've decided I'm going to save myself $245 and deal with it. (Assuming tire rack $42/sensor plus the $45 reset tool and for some reason extra shipping)
Yeah the national Highway Saftey Admistration makes us either install sensors in your new wheels or have you tell us you will be transfering your own. I don't know how we got by for 50 years without a computer telling us our tires were low, but that's the hand we were dealt.
You would probably have a hard time finding a dealership to disengage the sensors all together because it's a "safety issue" Just like they say not to fool you brake sensors with a piece of wire to complete the circuit. Because we can't tell when are brakes are going bad unless our computers tell us...

On the plus side, the Fordtrigger tool is only $35 now.
__________________
888-428-8355 ext. 4798
Julian@TireRack.com

Remember to reference Julian/Focus Fanatics in the "previous contacts" field to make sure the forum get's credit!
Julian@TireRack.com is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:47 PM   #10
alex62390
BACON?
 
alex62390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60434
Location: People's republic massivetwoshits, United States
What I Drive: 2004 svt focus EAP

Posts: 3,170
FF Reputation: 22 alex62390 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Can't it be disabled by the dealership? I work on SAAB's, when i install a snow tire package without sensors I can use the scan tool to deprogram the computer module from the car's network. Even though TPMS is required on all US cars, its not required in all countries and there might be a way to disable the system.
__________________
2004 svt focus EAP #658

Former Hatch Nation #08
alex62390 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.