Xcal3 Software on a Mac - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2011, 10:44 PM   #1
RXTurner21
Focus Addict
 
RXTurner21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79216
Location: Waterford, MI
What I Drive: 1987 Toyota Supra, 2004 ZX3

Posts: 641
FF Reputation: 3 RXTurner21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Xcal3 Software on a Mac

Does anyone have a good solution for running the Xcal software on a Mac? I don't have access to a PC and don't want to purchase one just to tune. I am also trying to avoid paying anything. for example partitioning my hard drive and paying money for a copy of windows OS to install.

Any ideas? Thanks a lot

-Ryan


__________________
'87 NA Toyota Supra 5spd stock with 68K original miles (garage)
'04 Blue ZX3 2.3l 5spd W/K&N CAI, 6000k HID projector headlights 17" Ford Racing Rally wheels
D23 owners click here --->http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/group.php?groupid=94
RXTurner21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:31 AM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,245
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Virtual Box or ... other one just slipped my mind, edit it in if I remember.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:33 AM   #3
RXTurner21
Focus Addict
 
RXTurner21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79216
Location: Waterford, MI
What I Drive: 1987 Toyota Supra, 2004 ZX3

Posts: 641
FF Reputation: 3 RXTurner21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks. Would I just get that from Pirate bay or something similar and install it? or what all is involved? Sorry for the dumb questions.
__________________
'87 NA Toyota Supra 5spd stock with 68K original miles (garage)
'04 Blue ZX3 2.3l 5spd W/K&N CAI, 6000k HID projector headlights 17" Ford Racing Rally wheels
D23 owners click here --->http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/group.php?groupid=94
RXTurner21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 04:29 AM   #4
newmission
Focus Enthusiast
 
newmission's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84688
Location: Toledo, OH
What I Drive: YB-MK3-MTX-SE-OG Sport-HB

Posts: 534
FF Reputation: 5 newmission Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This is a good question. I asked Tom about using a Mac and he didn't know about any available software yet. Was shocked this hasn't been an issue for him yet with the Mac revolution speeding up. I am SOULY Mac and never want to go back! I guess the only solution would be to install windows on my Mac eh? BOOO! lol
newmission is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 07:14 AM   #5
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by newmission View Post
This is a good question. I asked Tom about using a Mac and he didn't know about any available software yet. Was shocked this hasn't been an issue for him yet with the Mac revolution speeding up. I am SOULY Mac and never want to go back! I guess the only solution would be to install windows on my Mac eh? BOOO! lol
I got Win(fail)dows 7, and installed it on my old MacBook, just for this. I couldn't get the Xcal to work with VMWare Fusion on my MacBook Pro, so I figured I had to run it natively. Rather than waste hard drive space on my MacBook Pro with Windows, I used my old Mac, which I barely use, and has plenty of HD space that isn't going to get used otherwise.

And yes, I really think with the Mac growing in market share more rapidly than it has since it's induction, SCT should at least consider making a simple Mac application. I really hate Windows, and I find myself cursing under my breath at work all the time (Windows 7 on my work comp).
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:40 PM   #6
RXTurner21
Focus Addict
 
RXTurner21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79216
Location: Waterford, MI
What I Drive: 1987 Toyota Supra, 2004 ZX3

Posts: 641
FF Reputation: 3 RXTurner21 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What would I have to do to run windows on my macbook pro since I don't seem to have any other options
__________________
'87 NA Toyota Supra 5spd stock with 68K original miles (garage)
'04 Blue ZX3 2.3l 5spd W/K&N CAI, 6000k HID projector headlights 17" Ford Racing Rally wheels
D23 owners click here --->http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/group.php?groupid=94
RXTurner21 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RXTurner21 View Post
What would I have to do to run windows on my macbook pro since I don't seem to have any other options
I tested VMWare Fusiona and BootCamp, and the only one that worked was running Windows natively using BootCamp.

What you'll need is a Windows disc. Launch the boot camp assistant, and follow the instructions.
You can find more help here: http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/

If you use an upgrade disc instead of the full version, you'll just have to do a lot more work to get things working. First, you'll have to copy the disc and make it bootable, and then you'll have to do a small registry hack to register it with Microsoft. It's just one line, and quite easy to do, so don't be intimidated. It's not illegal either, because people have to do this all the time if they prefer to wipe their hard drive before upgrading (when I upgrade Windows, I usually do this).
You can find a guide for that here:
http://www.winsupersite.com/article/...-upgrade-media

"Method 2" is the one I used, and the quickest and easiest. I also had to make a copy of the disc, because the one I bought (legitimately through Microsoft) wasn't bootable. What a pain in the ass that was. If you have this problem, I'll try to track down where I found the solution.

If you have a bootable, retail version of Windows, using Boot camp is a breeze. If you go the cheap route and get a student version or upgrade version, installing windows (on any platform with a clean install) is a pain in the ass.

I had a hell of a time installing this. It's like Microsoft didn't have enough joy out of giving me headaches at work, they had to go and screw me over at home too. Still, got it all working, and those guides should make it a lot easier for you if you run into any snags.
I really hope SCT releases a Mac interface. They'll have to eventually, with the rising interest in Macs.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 01:40 PM   #8
tukaniSVT
FF PHOTOG ENTHUSIAST
 
tukaniSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5521
Location: SW Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2003 SVT Focus 2008 Edge SEL

Posts: 14,913
FF Reputation: 34 tukaniSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
For software like this, Bootcamp is the better way to go.

On my friend's Mac, he wanted to keep his games from the windows side and the only way to make them work well and not skip was to use Bootcamp. I thought it was a great idea to have that as part of the OSX Leopard set. Which is great.

Now for those thinking putting Windows on a Mac will save you from Spam, Spyware and Viruses ... you are still open to it. Hell you are open to it on the Mac OS ... just they don't read the coding of the Mac OS so they don't do anything but take up space. But when they find the Windows coding they go active.

I also wished that SCT Created a Software for Mac. I have all macs at our home as well. So, I borrow my friend's Windows XP Dell that works great.

-Ray-
__________________
Hatch Nation Member: #147

TeamFocalize Head Honcho

R.I.P - FELLOW FF MEMBER, IZZY, BLK2k3GTS, will always be remembered. We will compete on a different course again one day.

OFFICIAL FOCUSFEST PHOTOS POSTED:CLICKY HERE TO SEE THE AREA OF PHOTOS
tukaniSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 01:53 PM   #9
MacAttack
Focus Addict
 
MacAttack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Fan#: 79365
Location: Reading, PA
What I Drive: 2000 Dark Green SE

Posts: 1,011
FF Reputation: 5 MacAttack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tukaniSVT View Post
For software like this, Bootcamp is the better way to go.

On my friend's Mac, he wanted to keep his games from the windows side and the only way to make them work well and not skip was to use Bootcamp. I thought it was a great idea to have that as part of the OSX Leopard set. Which is great.

Now for those thinking putting Windows on a Mac will save you from Spam, Spyware and Viruses ... you are still open to it. Hell you are open to it on the Mac OS ... just they don't read the coding of the Mac OS so they don't do anything but take up space. But when they find the Windows coding they go active.

I also wished that SCT Created a Software for Mac. I have all macs at our home as well. So, I borrow my friend's Windows XP Dell that works great.

-Ray-
Well, if you have the virus on your Mac partition, you're usually safe. I don't think Windows can't read the HTFS+ volume, meaning it will have no access to the virus. Now, if the virus is on the Windows partition, yes, you will have trouble when you boot up.
MacAttack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 02:42 AM   #10
spc_fruit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56879
Location: #$&%^$, Australia
What I Drive: @#%(*&!@#^(*!@#

Posts: 140
FF Reputation: 1 spc_fruit Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I have an old Ibook G4 - so no bootcamp option.

what about installing Virtual PC and running windows - which i have.

dont particuarly want to run windows on my 27" imac next to the car - would be awkward.
spc_fruit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.