SCT Datalogging 101 - Downloadable Datalog List & How-To - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2011, 10:04 AM   #1
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
SCT Datalogging 101 - Downloadable Datalog List & How-To

This will take some time to get finished , I will be posting links to download datalog list for your Yocus of Diff years and ECU codes for the ZX3 , SVT , Duratec codes

Downloadable DataLog List Files for SCT LiveLinkTHESE ARE GENERIC LIST THAT WORK ON 85% OF THE FOCI IF IT says IT DOES NOT MATCH YOUR ECU GO PAST THAT AND THEY SHOULD WORK TO LOG WITH

Instructions:
  1. Download & Install LiveLink from SCT to your laptop.
  2. Download the correct engine datalog file above.
  3. Connect your SCT tuning device to your laptop & ODB-II port.
  4. Open SCT LiveLink.
  5. File > Open Live Link Configuration > Select Your File > Open
  6. Click Start Data Logging to begin logging.


STFT1/stft1 : Short Term Fuel Trim 1 (1 meaning bank 1 sensor1)
Some Duratecs use STFT FINAL / stft final (choose both 1 and final if datalogging)
This should be between 1.250 max rich and .750 max lean the target is 1.000 stoich 14.7 A/F. You will never see 1.000 (unless you just started your car OR you have failed closed loop and you are now in open loop read below ) as the ECU cannot hold the A/F at 1.000/14.7 so you should be seeing roughly between 1.100 and .900 always switching . On the graph the stft1 should look like a castle top and I would post a picture of a proper working stft1

Failed closed loop (enters open loop) is when either your above 1.250 max rich or below .750max lean , the o2 sensor has failed , fuse for the o2 sensor has blown
Fuse is located under hood on Drivers side fire wall Fuse # ????(anyone)
Location :This o2 is located closest to the Cyl. head between the CAT and Cyl head


ECT / ect: Engine Coolent Temperatures
This one should be easy and tells you the engine/water temp of the engine
Location: Zetec In the Cyl head close to Intake runners 1 and 2
Location: SVT in the thermostat Housing Pass side end of Cyl Head
Location: Duratec Center of head between Spk Plug 2 and 3

IAT / iat :Intake Air Temp
Measures the incoming air temperature between the filter and the Throttle body
Location: Built into the Mass Air on all models


MAF COUNTS / maf counts - MAF VOLTAGE / maf voltage
Measures the incoming air (Mass Air) to the engine in counts/voltage
Location: Between air filter and Throttle Body


Knock Retard / Knock timing adder
This shows the amount of timing retard or timing adder -2 would be 2 deg timing taken out , 2 would be the amount of timing added , Not all Foci have the ability to add timing
Zetec / SVT Knock sensor is located just below the 2,3 Cyl intake runners in the top back of the block
Duratec Knock Sensor is located on the front of the block below Cyl 2

Spark Advance / Timing
This will show the amount of timing that is going to the engine at that given RPM and load


Throttle Position Sensor / TPS Voltage / TPS Counts / TPS Absolute
This shows the amount the throttle is at , Idle would be close to 190-200 and WOT would be 850-1000
Location: TPS is located on the drivers side of the Throttle Body

Spark Source : There are MANY calculation that make up the final spark advance/timing this will tell you where the final timing calculation is coming from

Fuel Source : There are many ways to get fueling to an engine , closed loop , open loop , cold start etc. this will tell you what the ECU is using for fueling

If you are using SCT Live Link to do your datalogging and go to "Help" then to "Source Codes" it will tell you what the numbers mean that you will see in on the datalog for the Spark Source / Fuel Source

Time Stamp : At the bottom of all logging there is a timer that shows the amount of time the log has been running. It is a great help if your having an issue and you can reproduce that issue why logging to take a quick note of that exact time that way your tuner can go to that spot in time and see what's happening

What do things mean
ECT = Engine Coolent Temperature
IAT = Intake Air Temperature
WOT = Wide Open Throttle
TPS = Throttle Position Sensor
STFT1 = Short Term Fuel Trim , The 1 means sensor 1 bank one you would never use 2
LTFT Long Term Fuel Trim , rarely used
RPM = Revolution Per Minute
MAF = Mass Air Flow
EGR = Exhaust Gas Recirculation

IF THERE IS SOMETHING YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE ADDED TO ANY OF THESE LIST PLEASE ASK


Tom


__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus

Last edited by 1turbofocus; 05-01-2011 at 08:11 PM.
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 11:21 AM   #2
Jgrove998
i <3 my ST
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '12 Fusion SE V6

Posts: 2,419
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Sweet. A good start. Thanks Tom.
__________________
2012 Fusion SE 3.0L V6
'86 XR4Ti ; 2.3L Turbo, 15psi
1988 F150 Custom
'07 ST ; formally bewst'd - R.I.P
D23 Crew: #07
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 11:48 PM   #3
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
what about what you do with the car?

Do you log a 1/4 mile drag run? a trip to walmart? a drive down the freeway for 5 minutes at 70mph, rev it up in park?
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:00 PM   #4
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowerR64 View Post
what about what you do with the car?

Do you log a 1/4 mile drag run? a trip to walmart? a drive down the freeway for 5 minutes at 70mph, rev it up in park?
All depends on what you need the log for , If youe working with a new tune and need to log then I would have you do a 5 min cruise , WOT in 3rd gear from 2000 to 4500 then a 1 min idle all in one log

If your trying to find an issue your having then log till the issue shows a few times then note the time stamps so your tuner can see the issue easier

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 10:52 PM   #5
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
All depends on what you need the log for , If youe working with a new tune and need to log then I would have you do a 5 min cruise , WOT in 3rd gear from 2000 to 4500 then a 1 min idle all in one log

If your trying to find an issue your having then log till the issue shows a few times then note the time stamps so your tuner can see the issue easier

Tom
Thanks, its all starting to come together now.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 08:57 PM   #6
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Im having another issue now.

I can log using this datalog list but my LC-1 wideband wont show as a log option in the list. If i log threw the SCT it shows the LC1 but not some of the other options in this duratec log list.

How do i add the LC1 to the "duratec-log list"?

If i try adding the LC1 before i log on the SCT, then using livelink and the PC it locks up and wont show any data while its live logging. I get an error that says no data received for 10 seconds or somthing like that.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:32 AM   #7
fsk1999
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119283
Location: foshan, China
What I Drive: 2006 blue focus

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 fsk1999 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
All depends on what you need the log for , If youe working with a new tune and need to log then I would have you do a 5 min cruise , WOT in 3rd gear from 2000 to 4500 then a 1 min idle all in one log

If your trying to find an issue your having then log till the issue shows a few times then note the time stamps so your tuner can see the issue easier

Tom
Hello ,can you tell me ?1 min idle all in one log ,The data collected What is the role? Can you teach me to use this data to custom tune car do?
Especially one minute idle, this data needs to record those details I?

I have a AEM a/f wideband ,It already connected firewire cable.

thanks you very much!
fsk1999 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 08:15 AM   #8
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
When you download a list to log and have to add something to the list you will have to create a new list and check the PID you want to log, The checked PID wont show up if you need to add something else to the downloaded list I have been asking for that to be corrected for years
Just save the list where you can see it and go through the PID and check the boxes then next time you need to add something the checked boxes are there and you wont have to redo the list

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 02:49 PM   #9
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,352
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
When you download a list to log and have to add something to the list you will have to create a new list and check the PID you want to log, The checked PID wont show up if you need to add something else to the downloaded list I have been asking for that to be corrected for years
Just save the list where you can see it and go through the PID and check the boxes then next time you need to add something the checked boxes are there and you wont have to redo the list

Tom
Is this under commands, configure datalog items? The SCT needs to be plugged into the car then into the laptop to create a new list right?

Then when i make a new list it will "match the car" or what ever the warning says when it pops up?

What else can i add that will better help tune? Ide like to remove analog 1, 3 and 4 from the list.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 07:49 PM   #10
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Yes you can remove analog 1,3,4 if your not using them

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.