My in-car wiring diagram for datalogging/tuning - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
My in-car wiring diagram for datalogging/tuning

I was trying to sort out connectors and things for tuning, and then I accidentally opened photoshop...





__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!

Last edited by mellephants; 08-06-2009 at 08:02 PM.
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:03 PM   #2
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
You might be "WTFing" at some of the connectors, don't worry, just ask what they are and I'll answer. If I have time later I'll summarize the whole thangy.

Basically I was just trying to figure out the best/easiest way to hook everything up without having to solder things together while in the car. I really hate it when things aren't easily removable. I'd rather spend the time cutting up some RCA cables to make custom connectors so that later when I decide to move my wideband I don't have to cut wires and re-solder everything.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:37 PM   #3
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
wtf is that connector on the bottom right under your wideband gauge???

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:39 PM   #4
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
haha, IDK, some sort of thing for something or another...
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:40 PM   #5
illinipo
Token Engin-nerd
 
illinipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 37693
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?, Not Listed
What I Drive: dirty wag; Party; Bavarian phallus

Posts: 3,408
FF Reputation: 272 illinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Memberillinipo Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
and why does your dyno graph on your computer look so smooth??

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_Grant
Remember this list: Bilstein; Penske; Koni; Ohlins; Sachs; Dynamic Suspension.

Not on this list? Almost certainly crap.
SUV this!
illinipo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:42 PM   #6
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
thats actually a 1920x1200 screengrab of my MTF, on Advantage, on 64-bit Windows 7
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:43 PM   #7
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
good thing i shrank it into unintelligible unreadability, otherwise I think I'd be breaking the EULA
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:50 PM   #8
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,391
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
iPod and radio, I'm confused on those 2 . . . explain?
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:28 PM   #9
iceberg65
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 64382
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
What I Drive: 00 laser red cougar

Posts: 156
FF Reputation: 2 iceberg65 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
are you running livelink on 64bit windows vista? I thought their were compatibility issues with the software. I couldnt get the new version to install on my laptop
iceberg65 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 04:18 PM   #10
mellephants
omn-nom-nomnomnomnom
 
mellephants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52400
Location: Urbana, IL
What I Drive: 12 SE, 91 DR350S, 74 CL360

Posts: 2,287
FF Reputation: 12 mellephants Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
iPod and radio, I'm confused on those 2 . . . explain?
The iPod is just there to show that I can use an iPod + Aux-in at the same time (just have to switch sources using the head unit).


Audible Knock Monitor
The wires from the knock sensor signal to the cd-player allow listening for knock through the speakers in the car. This is very very useful because you eliminate exhaust and wind noise, and you can really hear any knock very clearly! I'm hoping it will work just as well on an SVTF as it does on the regular Zetec. Pete (illinipo) listens to his knock sensor this way, and has been really successful so far. I'm going to do it pretty much the same way, but I'll get my audio signal (ground & knock sensor) right from the J&S Safeguard harness (which are connected to the same ground and knock signal Pete suggests tapping into). This way if the audio signal is working I can be sure the J&S is also getting knock signal.


J&S Safeguard
The J&S Safeguard is hooked up as per the instructions on their website, the only difference is that for now I have the boost/vacuum port plugged so the J&S will monitor for knock all the time, not just above 5" of vacuum. The J&S Monitor wire is dataloggable, so I'm going to be running it into one of the Analog ports on my SCT XCAL2. I'm really happy about that, because I'll be able to review my datalogs to see exactly what conditions caused it to be active. The 3.5mm J&S Monitor wire is straightforward:



Wideband
My other analog input for datalogging is my Wideband O2 signal. I'm using an Autometer Wideband (#5778). It has an output meant for datalogging, so its connections are also very straightforward. For more info about that Wideband, you could check out its installation pdf.

Blue: Signal (0 - 5V)
Blue/Black: Ground


XCAL2 Analog Inputs
The XCAL2's analog inputs are easy to set up, especially if the signals you wish to log are already in the allowed range (0-5V). Luckily for me, both of my signals are in range, so I can just connect them right to the XCAL2.

Now comes the most annoying part about all of this: The XCAL2's non-standard 9-pin mini-DIN connector. IMO the most simple & durable way to pull this off is to buy a Male-Male cable, then chop it in half so you have one for you and one for a friend. I bought one on eBay, from the stockcable.com store... it is also available on their website, PN# R58190A-03. Whenever you're making custom cables, always use a multimeter to determine which wires go to which pins, because not all cables use the same color scheme. You only need 3 wires for the XCAL2:


I chose to solder some widely available female RCA connectors to this DIN cable. This allows for fast & easy connections, extensions, and source swapping. I simply soldered another female RCA to the datalogging output on my Wideband, and made a custom 3.5mm->single RCA cable for the J&S Monitor.
__________________
SCT PRP FTMFW!

Last edited by mellephants; 08-07-2009 at 05:12 PM.
mellephants is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! 2000 Focus - no fuel - need wiring diagram thebigreddog! General Technical Chat 7 09-21-2013 09:19 AM
ST170 Tailight Wiring Diagram havoc7476 MK1 Focus 6 11-07-2005 11:50 PM
April 2005 U.S. Auto Sales Scorecard Kneel Ford Focus & General Car Chat 3 05-04-2005 03:56 PM
Anyone have a wiring diagram for guage cluster. BLKEUROSVTZX5 Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 2 08-11-2004 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.