Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK3 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=121)
-   -   My Car :) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320702)

Marine 07-09-2013 12:27 PM

My Car :)
 
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/mar...ter/slideshow/

The Magellan GPS has the wireless backup cam. Yeah its huge but it was wasting away in my MPV that I never drive so...

ShoOff 07-09-2013 10:01 PM

very nice ride!! I really like that gps..... might have to look into getting one. whats the cable running into your dash?

Userdenied 07-09-2013 10:05 PM

Nice looking ride, love the sterling gray color. Wish I could have found one in that color when I was looking.

Question about what I think is your dash cam up on the top right of the windshield. Where did you run your cable for power back to? Is there someplace up near the moonroof/ambient lighting controls you can tap into? I really want a dashcam but I don't want to mess with cables running down from the window into a 12v socket.

Marine 07-09-2013 10:20 PM

You think it was easy. The cable was getting the live traffic to work not so much...
I ran the GPS wiring down the right side of steering wheel to this I Velcro under the drivers seat. it clears the seat motor by millimeters. I just have to remind wife to lift then slide lol.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I ran the power cable for the DVR down the pillar on the passenger side under the glove thru the center consolel right by the cabin filter housing so you can plug it under the drivers seat to said three port.

The three port has a rocker switch on the plug itself and plugged that in to the rear power port. Now it has a 16 foot cord. I used a few tie straps and tucked all the excess under the carpet where the rear Ac vent blows under the drivers seat.

I plugged both gps and dvr plugs to the three port under the seat and ran the cables tucked under the center console. Clean I will take pics tomorrow and post.

Now the PIA The live traffic was not receiving the signal due to the dvr plug. The gps socket houses the live traffic module. So interference occurred took me hours to trouble shoot. So.....I ran another 16 foot extension for the cam and tucked all behind the center console dash over the cabin filter tons of space there. So the dvr is running through about 32 feet of cable ROFl. Yeah yeah I could have spliced into a hot point but I really did not want to void any warranties at this point. You cannot see the cables and it all works well. Did I have to use extension that long...well all i had and I was extremely pissed about the live traffic. Oh and the wireless cam signal was scrambled as well. That took another couple hours and many test drives to figure out it was related to the cam plug. Now with the extension, go figure, it works well. How and why I do not really care lol :)

Marine 07-10-2013 05:19 PM

Here are the pics. I could have done a better job with the wiring. The front, under, center dash look clean. I just have to figure out the lower areas.

http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...608480x640.jpg
http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...604480x640.jpg
http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...602480x640.jpg
http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...605480x640.jpg
http://i807.photobucket.com/albums/y...606480x640.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.