Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   New to the focus performance (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320160)

freeclowns 07-01-2013 04:31 AM

New to the focus performance

So I have read that it is not that hard to lean out a focus... As the title has stated I am new to the focus performance part of the world... I am looking to see what I can do right now with out needing a tune...

My wife has a 01 zx3 standard and I will also have a zx3,svt or zx5 soon....I am just replaced stuff due to PO failing to take care of the car.. I have ordered her a Volant intake/w ram scoop. I have not ordered anything else for her motor as of right now...

I know her cat is going bad and I will be doing the svt header swap soon ( new svt header used cat and 2-2.25 exhaust piping)... I am also looking into the ( I think) zx2 intake manifold swap. I will be ordering her a Innovative air/fuel gauge soon also... So what can I really get away with before I lean out the motor?

Also I am going to swapping out her struts and spring this week sometime.. I Need to know some parts I may want to order on the rear suspension.What I mean like new bolts ( will be replacing swap bar bushing), anything that has to do with the lower/upper control arms?

I was reading a write up on doing the rear suspension and he had to replace the " spring perch". What is a spring perch and is that the part on the rear LCA that the bottom of the spring sits on?

A little information about what suspension that is going on her car.. I ordered her the Ford racing svt upgrade strut kit and some Tein springs... I maybe ordering her a Energy suspension bushing kit also. While I am doing her struts I will be doing tie rods, front LCA and front sway bar links...