Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Forced Induction (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   MAF location (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=318170)

emgrock1 06-03-2013 02:34 PM

MAF location
 
Right now i'm having an issue. The kit I purchased is currently setup with the maf on the airfilter and the bov after the turbo on the intake side. When the car is idling obviously there are no issues but when the bov opens to let out the pressure the car stalls. My thinking is that the MAF has already accounted for the air coming in and when the bov lets the air out, the accounted air is no longer available. If I was to take the air from the bov and recirculate it back into the intake tube after the MAF would this fix my issue? or should I try to relocate the MAF after the turbo? and if the second case what sort of MAF should I use?

ZXthrizzle05 06-03-2013 02:38 PM

so you have a suckthrough set up it sounds. who is tuning your car? best advice I can give is try and go with a blow through. show me your engine bay pics, I can give you some intel on where you can remove some pipe and purchase a 3 inch pipe from cfm and install in the spot where the pipe was removed. typically you want the maf for a blow through set up bout 3 inches to a foot from the throttle body

emgrock1 06-03-2013 02:54 PM

I have yet to find a tuner and here are some pictures.

http://imageshack.us/a/img40/4562/20130602125227.jpg

emgrock1 06-03-2013 02:55 PM

http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/5...0602125234.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

ZXthrizzle05 06-03-2013 03:02 PM

ok two people on this site are good tuners that I know of. one is tom lesperance aka 1turbofocus. and another is Fernando at racepartsolutions dot com. if you want to go to a blowthrough then this is what id recommend. right by your oil filler cap I would cut about 5 inches of pipe away. then get that cfm maf piece and mount it there and just use a normal filter piece at the end

emgrock1 06-03-2013 03:15 PM

What should I use for the actual MAF sensor though? Is there a special sensor needed for blow through setups?

PumkinSvt 06-03-2013 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by emgrock1 (Post 4761870)
What should I use for the actual MAF sensor though? Is there a special sensor needed for blow through setups?

what do you want to run blow through or suck through?

you already have suck through why not leave it as is?

Mother Focus 06-03-2013 03:49 PM

I prefer blow through but it can be tuned for suck though without issues.

emgrock1 06-03-2013 03:59 PM

The only reason I want to change it is because its currently not working as it should be. I'm not sure if its because of the tune, I just feel like a blow through maf would yield a more precise measurement and be more stable when tuned properly. My main concern right now with a blow through maf is that I can't find anyone in my area who is confident tuning it.

ZXthrizzle05 06-03-2013 04:03 PM

that's why we do remote tuning. both ways can be tuned. its your choice to leave it or go with blow through


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.