Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Aftermarket audio question (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=313039)

atahmission 03-29-2013 05:08 PM

Aftermarket audio question
 
Hi guys. So, I picked up my 2013 Focus and I couldn't be more thrilled. I have had the somewhat unique opportunity to have owned a 2012 Civic up until this fall. Obviously, the Civic very much plays on the Focus' court, but I have to say that I'm impressed with the job Ford has done. No only is the Ford more fun to drive, in addition to being equipped with more/better features and options, but it also feels like a more substantial car. The Civic was somewhat loud, and there wasn't that "whump" I like to hear when closing the door. As for entertainment, the Sync system is much more capable, if not more user friendly, than what was in the Honda. The only positive I'd give the Civic is in fuel economy; it goes pretty easy on the sips of gas. That said, I'm somewhat of an audiophile, and though I found the stock system to be pretty good (6 speaker, non-sony), I wanted to upgrade the speakers in the door. I'm not sure of the power the head unit produces, so I specifically sought out efficient speakers, and Infinity makes a premium product (Kappa 5 1/4) that also uses wattage from the head pretty efficiently. The bummer is, I switched the speakers out, and I think that stock is better (more dynamic). The Infinity was the best option I could find of the market, and pretty damn expensive to boot, but I thought maybe the speakers were the problem. I replaced those with the top of the line JL Audio 5 1/4, and same difference. Now, I haven't moved to the front doors because I've been so disappointing with the rear, but does anyone have any experiences/guesses? I really don't want to put in an amp, so if that's the only solution, I suppose I'll stick with stock. Thanks!

ShoOff 03-29-2013 07:54 PM

To be honest the highs in the stock setup arent to bad at all. That being said I ran a Line driver so that i could install an amp and sub combo for the back. That being done i was able to basic turn up the mids and highs on the stock speakers while still being able to get a low punch from the subs. I love the way it sounds for a stock head unit and speakers!

atahmission 03-29-2013 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShoOff (Post 4660453)
To be honest the highs in the stock setup arent to bad at all. That being said I ran a Line driver so that i could install an amp and sub combo for the back. That being done i was able to basic turn up the mids and highs on the stock speakers while still being able to get a low punch from the subs. I love the way it sounds for a stock head unit and speakers!

I bet it does sounds sweet! I'm not thrilled with the thought of running wires through my firewall. Additionally, there's not all that much room in the hatch. If there was some sort of seamless box that integrated into the flow of the car.

ShoOff 03-30-2013 08:58 AM

well the firewall already has wires ran through it if im not mistaken. As for the hatch, yes it does take up space. the amp actual;ly fits under the cover for the spare in that foam layer. worked out nicely. as for the sub box. Well im running 2 12's and yes it does take up almost all of the space.

B-Ship 03-30-2013 11:24 PM

is your car an auto? if so, there is a great hole to run wire through behind the battery that was for the clutch. all you have to do is make a little hole in a rubber grommet.

dyn085 03-31-2013 12:51 AM

Moved to Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics.

dpando1 03-31-2013 05:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by B-Ship (Post 4662027)
is your car an auto? if so, there is a great hole to run wire through behind the battery that was for the clutch. all you have to do is make a little hole in a rubber grommet.

where is said hole behind said battery where said clutch would enter?
hahaha I am about to do an install and was gonna do it through the firewall on the passenger but if I could do what you said I will definitely.

freemind 03-31-2013 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dpando1 (Post 4662342)
where is said hole behind said battery where said clutch would enter?
hahaha I am about to do an install and was gonna do it through the firewall on the passenger but if I could do what you said I will definitely.

You are best off going through the passenger side on the MkIII.

dpando1 03-31-2013 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freemind (Post 4662473)
You are best off going through the passenger side on the MkIII.

Alright its on![gunfire] haha Ill be posting my install when I finish.

freemind 03-31-2013 06:38 PM

We look forward to it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.