Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   H/U upgrade, wiring harnesses? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=312701)

Snyper 03-25-2013 07:49 PM

H/U upgrade, wiring harnesses?
 
I'm thinking of upgrading my H/U to a Boss Double Din:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...-BV9362BI.html

I'm curious as to what specific harnesses I will also need to make all the factory features work with the upgrade. It says it has "Built-in steering wheel control settings will connect directly to your vehicle" - Is this true or will I need a specific harness? I feel like I'll be needing at least one, if not more, harness to enable all factory features to work with this H/U. I have sync, but this H/U has two USB ports, so I'll be using those rather than the factory one. It's going to go out to an amplifier, if that makes any difference in terms of what harness(es) I will need. The important things are the buttons on the wheel - I love those and would really enjoy to keep them all working.

crice8 03-27-2013 08:29 AM

Go to crutchfield and it will give you the exact harness needed for your situation. My new Kenwood X997, Satellite module, and Harness will be here today!!!!
I got the PAC C2R-FRD1

Snyper 03-27-2013 10:23 AM

Only thing I get from Crutchfield is this:
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_975EPC5...lug-Cable.html
Everything else doesn't "fit" my focus. Is that really the only harness I need to make everything work normal?

crice8 03-27-2013 10:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snyper (Post 4656242)
Only thing I get from Crutchfield is this:
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_975EPC5...lug-Cable.html
Everything else doesn't "fit" my focus. Is that really the only harness I need to make everything work normal?

Are you sure you have your vehicle entered right on Crutchfield? what is your year, specific model, sedan or coupe, sync or no sync, stock sub or no sub?

BLRich1 03-27-2013 10:35 AM

Give Sonic Electronix a call. Their customer service is awesome and will set you up with what you need. All of their head units come with the basic "install accessories".

crice8 03-27-2013 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLRich1 (Post 4656259)
Give Sonic Electronix a call. Their customer service is awesome and will set you up with what you need. All of their head units come with the basic "install accessories".

Basic install accessories does not cover the wiring harness for second gen focus. because even with the most basic focus without sync such as mine the fancy PAC Harness is needed.

BLRich1 03-27-2013 10:51 AM

seriously? That's unfortunate.

crice8 03-27-2013 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLRich1 (Post 4656270)
seriously? That's unfortunate.

Yup.

Snyper 03-27-2013 01:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crice8 (Post 4656248)
Are you sure you have your vehicle entered right on Crutchfield? what is your year, specific model, sedan or coupe, sync or no sync, stock sub or no sub?

Yes. 2009. SE Sedan. Sync. No sub. Factory radio.

freemind 03-27-2013 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snyper (Post 4653630)
I'm thinking of upgrading my H/U to a Boss Double Din:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...-BV9362BI.html

I'm curious as to what specific harnesses I will also need to make all the factory features work with the upgrade. It says it has "Built-in steering wheel control settings will connect directly to your vehicle" - Is this true or will I need a specific harness? I feel like I'll be needing at least one, if not more, harness to enable all factory features to work with this H/U. I have sync, but this H/U has two USB ports, so I'll be using those rather than the factory one. It's going to go out to an amplifier, if that makes any difference in terms of what harness(es) I will need. The important things are the buttons on the wheel - I love those and would really enjoy to keep them all working.

Invest in a line driver. That thing only has 2 volts of pre-out at best(I am thinking maybe 1.5v). You will get the best out of your amp(s?) that way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp