Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Spare tire (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=312326)

Matt89 03-20-2013 08:14 PM

Spare tire

I'm going on a trip and want to carry a full size spare tire just in case since one tire already had a nail, it has since been plugged fine for 6 months but you never know...

Since it's just a spare Im thinking of just hitting up the junkyard to salvage the rim and get a good used tire from a local shop.

Now since I've never done this before, am I limited to salvaging from only ford focuses with the same size, or can I take any rim off any make as long as it's the same size/number of lug nuts?

macdiesel 03-20-2013 08:37 PM

Lets see were to begin. Plugged tire, not good. Used tire, not good. Bolt pattern on junkyard wheel may have different offset. You want same size.

If you never know, why chance it with a used tire?

If I may, what happened to the spare?

HilloNative 03-20-2013 09:26 PM

You will spend money on used wheel and used tire, why don't you just replace the bad tire and take the donut with?

02fordsvt 03-21-2013 07:05 AM

I've been running used tires from a salvage yard for five years and have never had an issue with any of them and I keep a couple around just in case one starts leaking or runs out of tread.

As for wheel patterns, Focus wheels will obviously work (2000-2011) as well as Mercury Cougar and Ford Contour rims. Some older Mustangs work to but they will be harder to find.

rambleon84 03-21-2013 08:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 02fordsvt (Post 4647010)
Some older Mustangs work to but they will be harder to find.

id stay away from the mustang wheels for a spare wheel/backup, their offset is not friendly.

bile0026 03-21-2013 09:03 AM