Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Firewall Question (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=312251)

cboeger 03-20-2013 12:01 AM

Firewall Question
 
Best drill point for a power wire to an amp on a 2003 Ford Focus SE Sedan?


Automatic Transmission

sleepyboy 03-20-2013 12:16 AM

Moved to the Car Stereo section


If it's an auto you can just use the hole for the clutch pedal. If it's standard then you can drill a hole somewhere close to there but I'm not for sure. I know there were a lot of threads on this if you do a little searching I'm sure you could find them.

zetecDon 03-20-2013 02:07 AM

As Paul said, if you have an automatic there is a hole there already for where the master cylinder sits. It's usually plugged with a rubber stopper. All you have to do is remove that stopper and you have an open hole under the dash to run wiring. If you are driving a manual transmission, you can drill a hole about an inch above the clutch master cylinder.

mikebontoft 03-20-2013 03:28 AM

If all else fails, I'll take a picture of my stripped bare firewall from the interior if it helps. Just ignore the big hole in the middle.

cboeger 03-20-2013 12:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mikebontoft (Post 4645290)
If all else fails, I'll take a picture of my stripped bare firewall from the interior if it helps. Just ignore the big hole in the middle.

Do you mind showing a picture?

Mr.Bergner 03-20-2013 02:39 PM

I drilled mine just a few inches below where the fuse box is. I then used a coat hanger with my wire taped to it, to fish it out into the engine bay. Once the wires were ran, plugged the hole with a special type of clay made to hold wires in place so they don't get frayed or cut on the metal edge.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp