Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Help!! Ford can't seem to fix my car (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=310554)

silvrbuletZX3 03-01-2013 07:40 AM

Help!! Ford can't seem to fix my car
 
Gauges don't work but do come back on after a lot of driving like hours.

They said no bad grounds, altinator workin just fine and they can not communicate with my ecu with there computers

Any ideas?

ShoOff 03-01-2013 07:52 AM

if they cant communicate with the ecm chances are thats the same problem your gauges are having. replace?

silvrbuletZX3 03-02-2013 09:05 AM

My mileage also jumped up 60+ thousand miles. It comes on too when I've driven for a fue hours

tukaniSVT 03-02-2013 10:43 AM

So, your gauges are having issues? Or your ECM is having issues?

Yeah, I also think if they are having issues just plugging up to the computer, you may have a large problem there. For giggles, have you tried plugging in an OBD-II reader just to see if it picks up anything?

If it doesn't, your OBD-II port could be the start to fix your issue, which if I can remember is part of the ECM assembly.

Ford could fix it, but wow that would be super expensive and the ECM fix is not a DIY project at all.

Ray

silvrbuletZX3 03-02-2013 01:30 PM

Well thanks for the info hope its not that [:)][:)][:)][:)][:)][:)]. It's at ford so I can't play with anything on it right now. It works after a long drive I feel like something is draining my power

josh6025 03-02-2013 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silvrbuletZX3 (Post 4616682)
Well thanks for the info hope its not that [:)][:)][:)][:)][:)][:)]. It's at ford so I can't play with anything on it right now. It works after a long drive I feel like something is draining my power

When you get back and if they fixed the issue can you let me know as my SVT is having gauge light issues as well.

ShoOff 03-02-2013 07:54 PM

Gauge Light or gauges all together not working? I am almost certain that if its the gauges not working and they are having trouble reading the ECM the either the ECM its self is bad or its found a bad ground/short/etc. Which would mean harness. Either way sounds like a headache bro. Oh and i would "assume" that when ford told you they couldnt read the ECM that they too were using a OBD 2 scanner so your reader/scanner wouldnt really do much better. Any chance this isssue is happening at a certain engine temp and not necc. about how LONG the car has been running?

silvrbuletZX3 03-03-2013 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by josh6025 (Post 4616849)
When you get back and if they fixed the issue can you let me know as my SVT is having gauge light issues as well.

I'll let ya know for sure. This sux.



Quote:

Originally Posted by ShoOff (Post 4617148)
Gauge Light or gauges all together not working? I am almost certain that if its the gauges not working and they are having trouble reading the ECM the either the ECM its self is bad or its found a bad ground/short/etc. Which would mean harness. Either way sounds like a headache bro. Oh and i would "assume" that when ford told you they couldnt read the ECM that they too were using a OBD 2 scanner so your reader/scanner wouldnt really do much better. Any chance this isssue is happening at a certain engine temp and not necc. about how LONG the car has been running?

The gauge lights work, the needles don't they still move around, dashes on the Millage till they turn back on but the milage is wrong. If I let the car sit for a week or more it dies and needs a jump, it takes a fue hours of driving for them to start working, the gas gauge turns on after an 30min and the tach and speedo reset but don't work


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp