Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   2007 duratec ecu (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=308671)

WSkobra 02-08-2013 01:22 AM

2007 duratec ecu
 
So I have a 2007 focus se with the dtec20. Here in the future I plan on finding out if the ecu from the 07 st sedan will work and help increase the performance of my motor just by swapping the ecu. I have been wondering though if anyone has done this already. I have don't the research for the specs on the dtec20 vs the dtec23 and only difference I am finding is the stroke and bore. From the info I found the head is the exact same specs from the 20 to 23. If anyone has tried this let me know and if no one has then I guess we will find out if it works the hard way.

sam fisher 02-08-2013 01:24 AM

Why dont you just get a tune ? fswerks or tom on here will get you a nice one , but I believe tom give free updates

Sent from my SPH-M820-BST using FF Mobile

sleepyboy 02-08-2013 01:34 AM

The head is not the same spec. The head flows much better on the 2.3 than the 2.0. Your best bet would be to just get a tuner and a tune.

WSkobra 02-08-2013 04:29 AM

First of all I will not get a tune from Tom. I have seen videos and heard bad reviews on his tunes. Second I do plan on getting the sct excalibrator 3 programmer but my thought is my ecu is tuned differently because it does have less flow. So I figured by swapping out to the st ecu it will help adjust things better because it is tuned from the factory for a better flowing motor so it should help increase power just from the swap, I think. No two ecu's are programmed the same from the factory, especially a base model ecu vs a sportier tuned ecu. And if it does help just swapping the ecu out then I can hold off getting the programmer for a bit. Right now I have an issue with my current manifold with the tumble flaps. I am trying to beat some Hondas without having to tune the ecu. I have already ran one Honda with a motor swap with a full tune and he only gets me by a car length. He's got a jdm B16 vtec motor in his ef sedan civic. All I got is a couple bolts ons so like I said I want to beat these guys without having to tune my ecu just yet. I would rather swap out some parts that are going go help the motor out more.

sleepyboy 02-08-2013 04:47 AM

Tom is not the only tuner there is for the focus, there is also FSWerks. Where are these "video's" you claim to have seen?

Egz 02-08-2013 08:09 AM

Swapping out the ECU will do nothing but cause headaches. Just get a tune.

WSkobra 02-08-2013 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Egz (Post 4578208)
Swapping out the ECU will do nothing but cause headaches. Just get a tune.

How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.

felixthecat 02-08-2013 01:05 PM

WSKobra, I'd pass on the pcm swap & get your pcm reflashed. Its well worth it. A reflash gets you so much more then you think. You will find the motor runs so much smoother.

drewts86 02-08-2013 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WSkobra (Post 4578508)
How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.

I smell a troll! Come out from under that bridge if you know what's good for you! Otherwise just stay under that bridge and ignore the good advice of many seasoned FF veterans. Don't bring any more hate on Tom into this thread until you bring some context to support your claims. We don't like blind accusations around here.

Egz 02-09-2013 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WSkobra (Post 4578508)
How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.

Lets assume there aren't any wiring differences, because we all know Ford never changes the wiring ever....

The ST ECU is going to look for the solenoids for operating the dual runner intake manifold, and probably will throw an CEL. Which then means you need to flash that ECU to turn off the CEL. Which you can do to your original ECU.

(then there is PATS you have to worry about)

Ok, maybe not a headache, just overkill and unneeded.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp