Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   I want to make more power.... suggestions? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=308016)

2000zX3sct 01-30-2013 08:46 PM

I want to make more power.... suggestions?

Well , ive been driving my 2000 focus automatic for about 2 years and ive slowly been modding it but i think i have done every bolt on that can be done... so far i have
65mm BBK TB , Short ram intake , Full magnaflow exhaust with shorty header , Screamin Demon Coil , and Focus Central Pulleys and i have an sct 91 tune.

Im looking at some cams and valve springs becuase i am starting to hear some play in them. What would be the best setup to go with ? and also is it worth getting cam gears? I hear mixed opinions everywere.

Magus2727 01-30-2013 08:52 PM

Go with a SVT exhaust header and high flow cat. that will give better performance than your shorty (which does very little). You can get a stage 1 or 2 cams. cam gears are all about equal, note, if you plan on adjusting them you need to get them tuned while on a dyno.

2000zX3sct 01-30-2013 08:59 PM

i have a highflow cat and flex , is the svt header that much better? i mean what would the difference be?. Also has anyone installed a nitrous kit?

Magus2727 01-30-2013 10:21 PM

Many people have installed a nitrous kit. make sure its wet and you and usually run a 25-35 shot all day, our motors like to run a step larger on the fuel nozzle. The problem is nitrous is only momentary, and if you get all the fancy stuff will cost a bit. and will cost you every time you have to fill the tank.

The SVT header provides about 11-13 HP the shorty header does 2-3 HP I think?

Also technically using nitrous on public roads is illegal. so if you intend on using it on the road you sometimes have to be careful.