Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Dash swap?? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=307863)

Glyn2k 01-29-2013 07:44 AM

Dash swap??
 
Hi guys newbie with a question [slap]

Has anyone ever attempted to swap a mk2 dash into the mk1. My friend recently wrote off his mk2 and I was wondering if it was a possibility to swap the dashes over. I love my mk1 but the dash shape bugs me lol

Thanks in advance

katiekay 01-29-2013 09:02 AM

[welcome] to FF! [ffrocks]

No, the MK2 dash is larger.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wikipedia
The Focus Mk 2 is much larger and considerably heavier than its predecessor with a 25 mm (1 in) increase in wheelbase, 168 mm (6.6 in) longer, 8 mm (0.3 in) taller and 22 mm (0.8 in) wider. As a result the interior and boot space have increased. New technologies include a KeyFree system, a solar-reflect windshield, adaptive front lighting, Bluetooth hands-free phones and voice control for audio, telephone and climate control systems.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Fo...ion,_Europe%29

Broncoboy80 02-03-2013 02:52 AM

Ok first things first, are you mechanically inclined? I'm not saying, are you good at changing your oil... Swapping a dash is, very very simple and very straight forward. However it can be a total PITA if you have no idea where anything goes when you get to the install.

Things to keep in mind - if you Change your mk1 dash to a mk2, your interior door panels will NOT match up! Yes you "could" get away with it, but it won't look right. So if you are going to do this, make sure you also swap your door panels with the mk2's

sleepyboy 02-03-2013 03:06 AM

If your talking about the Euro MK2 then no it won't but if your talking about the American focus 00-04 swapping to a 05-07 dash then yes it will fit but the door panels won't line up and who knows maybe not even shut without swapping those over as well.

Glyn2k 02-03-2013 05:32 AM

Mechanically im not worried about the idea.

It was the Euro mk2 i was asking about and tbh i was just thinking out loud before his shell went to the shredder. I have swapped dashes in other cars before and just wondered if it was possible with the focus.
Thanks for the advice guys [:)]

mainest 02-03-2013 09:11 AM

I swapped a USDM '03 SVT dash (Mk.1) into a USDM '05 (Mk.1.5). Because Ford changed the mounting system for the head unit, I had to swap the steel crash bar (frame) as well as the plastic cover. All of the mounting points were the same, so it just took more time and effort than I expected. Good luck.

katiekay 02-03-2013 09:20 AM

^Good for you, doesn't help the OP. He is in the UK lol

Sniper Focus 02-03-2013 03:14 PM

I've seen some crazy dash swaps from different cars before, it might be possible, but not without a ton of time, know how, and effort.

Blue5ive 02-03-2013 07:07 PM

Euro mk1 to euro mk2 will not work. Completely different.

Sniper Focus 02-03-2013 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blue5ive (Post 4571320)
Euro mk1 to euro mk2 will not work. Completely different.

'69 and '04 Mustangs and new are different and dash swaps have been done. New Mini dash in a Mk2 VW, old new Porsche swaps. Direct bolt on? Not even remotely close.
Just like putting a V8 into a Focus it takes time, money, skill, insanity, and etc...

Personally I don't think a dash swap would be worth it, unless it's going to be a spectacular project car.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.