Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Tps problems (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=307751)

steelersx49 01-28-2013 09:30 AM

Tps problems
 
I have a 2000 focus with a 2.0 zetec automatic. About a week ago my car started reving around 4-5000 rpms in park and wouldnt drop. Checked throttle cables and such and nothing. So i hooked it up on the SCANNER not a code reader. It said it was the iac valve. So replaced that. Fixed the problem but then the tranny started to slip, had no power and poor gas mileage. Hooked it up again and it was reading the tps. So i changed the tps 3 times now....The thing is the tps that came off it was for a manual throttle body. I picked up an auto tps and it doesnt fit. Im stumped on what to try or what to do. Any help?

TerryB 01-28-2013 02:41 PM

You're going to need the update throttle body and throttle position sensor with a new pigtail. The 00-02.5 is unavailable for an automatic. There is a new Ford vendor on here you may want to try. Post in that section for pricing.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/f...splay.php?f=81

amc49 01-28-2013 02:53 PM

He says he has the auto TPS, sounds like someone backwards here. The auto one unavailable..........

The two will not interchange even if pigtail changed, the range values of the switches are different since they insert in different degrees of throttle quadrant. Hope that makes some sense.

steelersx49 01-28-2013 03:34 PM

The tps i have on it is for a manual. I tried the auto tps but it wont fit onto my TB. So im thinking the person who had it before me had changed the throttle body to a manual.

TerryB 01-28-2013 04:01 PM

The TPS you're trying is the updated version. It will only fit the updated throttle body. It looks like the one on this throttle body. Much bigger than the original stock TPS.
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...oyd/tbauto.jpg
http://focus.c-f-m.com/fordthottlebo...automatic.aspx

steelersx49 01-29-2013 05:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TerryB (Post 4561526)
The TPS you're trying is the updated version. It will only fit the updated throttle body. It looks like the one on this throttle body. Much bigger than the original stock TPS.
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...oyd/tbauto.jpg
http://focus.c-f-m.com/fordthottlebo...automatic.aspx

Thanks for the help, is there anyway to get the older model tps?

TerryB 01-29-2013 05:33 PM

They're not made as far as I know. This has been beat around forever. You can try a junkyard I guess.
I think I asked here once before. They wanted the part number off the TPS. The one in the ad is for a manual also. They're in the vendor section on here.
http://focus.c-f-m.com/fordthrottlep...czetecsvt.aspx

steelersx49 02-04-2013 04:38 PM

Okay changed the whole throttle body and a new tps....Still the same problems, and the light came back on...Any other suggestions before i take it to the dealer?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp