Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   2012 Focus SEL Remote Key not working (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=307690)

KatFocus 01-27-2013 02:24 PM

2012 Focus SEL Remote Key not working
 
Hi
I have an 2012 FF SEL, had it for 11 months now
In September, the remote key I had used exclusively since getting the car stopped working.
Dealer finally ordered a replacement.
Since then I have been using the 2nd original key. Two nights ago it unlocked the drivers door, and hasn't worked since. I tried a new battery...
nothing none of the buttons on the car work. (Lock/unlock/trunk/panic)
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for any assistance...

Bobee12 01-27-2013 05:36 PM

One of my key fobs stopped working shortly after I bought my 12 FF SEL hatchback. Just take it to a Ford dealer and they will either replace it or fix it. It's under warranty so I wouldn't worry about it.

JayDeZ 01-28-2013 10:52 AM

There is a TSB for key fobs that stop responding. Take it to the dealer. The need to reprogram the module.

Mine had the same problem. It presents as an intermittent problem or not working at all.

KatFocus 01-28-2013 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JayDeZ (Post 4561046)
There is a TSB for key fobs that stop responding. Take it to the dealer. The need to reprogram the module.

Mine had the same problem. It presents as an intermittent problem or not working at all.

Thanks so much
I all ready replaced one of my key fobs...mechanic at dealer told me I press the buttons too hard
I keep thinkings me.........trying to figure out what the problem could be

whynotthinkwhynot 01-29-2013 05:17 AM

Nah, the module needs to be reprogrammed. I wish we had the procedure for it. That would make things so much easier.

FordService 01-29-2013 09:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KatFocus (Post 4559570)
...In September, the remote key I had used exclusively since getting the car stopped working...

Welcome to the boards, KatFocus! I want to see that this is fixed for you. Iím able to help by sending the info to the customer service manager for your area. Please shoot me a PM with your VIN, full name, phone number, approximate mileage, and dealer name/state.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bobee12 (Post 4559822)
...Just take it to a Ford dealer and they will either replace it or fix it. It's under warranty so I wouldn't worry about it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JayDeZ (Post 4561046)
...Take it to the dealer...

Quote:

Originally Posted by whynotthinkwhynot (Post 4562548)
Nah, the module needs to be reprogrammed...

Itís great to see all the feedback from the community; thanks, everyone. [thumb]

Cory


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.