Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Winter Tires, absolutely necessary to install TPMS? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=305818)

djacqo 01-05-2013 06:43 PM

Winter Tires, absolutely necessary to install TPMS?
 
Hello everyone!

I live in southeast Michigan and we don't get a lot of snow so I don't really need winter tires for most of the time, even in the winter. However, I go snowboarding a few times a year up north and in the mountains and the stock tires on my 2010 Focus SES can't handle well in any significant snow.

So, I don't feel I need the TPMS in the wheels, as I can keep track of my tire pressure myself and I don't care if the light comes on the dashboard for the duration of a trip. Will the car's performance be affected in any other way without them installed? I haven't found whether or not the computer will try to compensate or something. I'm seeing lots of cheap used wheel and tire sets around but they don't have TPMS.

Bonus question: Does anyone know of a particular 15"wheel that will clear the calipers or will all befine? Is it just better to go with a 16"?

Thanks,
Dave

Twenty 01-05-2013 07:26 PM

It can be illegal to disable TPMS. Best to check into that for your area.

turbosleepa 01-05-2013 08:09 PM

i roll around without sensors in and the indicator on my dash has only been on one drive over the last two weeks

dodgeguy 01-05-2013 08:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djacqo (Post 4526997)
I live in southeast Michigan and we don't get a lot of snow

LOL. funny. I just googled Ann Arbor annual snowfall average and it was 57". I agree we havent had much this year or last, but remember 2 years ago? 12 - 18" every other week it seemed.

Get some tires. Mount them on steelies. 15" cuz the 16" tires get way more expensive. I found some on Craigslist for $80 for 4. Thats my 2 cents, for what its worth.

dodgeguy 01-05-2013 08:14 PM

Oh, and I dont have sensors on mine either. No problems..........

Bwhit1 01-05-2013 10:17 PM

Simple fix for the light is take PVC pipe drill 4 holes in it cap off the ends and put 32psi in it and put it with the spare. That should take care of it

Joeywhat 01-05-2013 10:27 PM

I don't have sensors in mine, either.

It's annoying, but thats about it. I just wish the freakin' light wouldn't flash...then I wouldn't be bothered by it so much.

SVTFOCI03 01-10-2013 10:19 AM

We do alot of wheel and tire swaps and powder coating wheels and a few of our customers run a different set of wheels and tires for winter and we leave the sensors in the nice wheels, it sets the light but as long as you can love with that you'll be golden!

FreakNastyFocus 01-10-2013 10:36 AM

Can you re-flash the PCM to remove the TPMS code perminately?

BLRich1 01-10-2013 10:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Twenty (Post 4527050)
It can be illegal to disable TPMS. Best to check into that for your area.

can be? It is.

But who am I to speak. I'm way beyond "legal" on my car.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp