Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Forced Induction (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   MAF Setup Options? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=305396)

AMMO-Duke 12-31-2012 02:36 PM

MAF Setup Options?

I will be doing my first turbo build soon and I want to know what are all the options available for the MAF setup on a Duratec? It sounds like a lot go with a larger tube w/ stock MAF and re-tune? What about MAFia? I have zero experience with one. Are there any aftermarket MAF's available for our car? What is more tuneable, accurate, reliable, etc.?

Here are the specifics:

-05' Duratec 2.0, stock
-T-3 50 trim .48 A/R (I know this turbo is small, but that is what I have. I am just looking for good torque/mid range and fun to drive around town. I'll save the big HP for my second turbo build!)
-this will be a blowthrough set-up
-10 psi max

Please keep in mind the following:

-Tuneability and driveability are very important
-I do my own tuning
-I will be going with 60lb injectors
-In the future, I will go with a built 2.3, bigger turbo, more boost, and I dont want to have to upgrade the MAF setup or injectors again (if possible)

Thanks for your inputs, I have really learned a lot from reading this forum so far.

MustangCRZY302 12-31-2012 03:15 PM

For my Mustang, I use a Abaco MAF meter. Fully tunable, not sure if they offer anything small enough for the 4cyl. I run a 95mm one on the Mustang.

koke'sfocus 12-31-2012 04:06 PM

Mafia it's a good way to do a blowthru setup that's what I have but some people here said to me is not necessary it's ur call I would recommend u to get it for the later 2nd turbo build

ZXthrizzle05 12-31-2012 06:17 PM

just get mafia adapter for stock maf, its how most of us run it, I am running a 05 mustang maf with mafia adapter

burke_024 01-27-2013 07:53 PM