Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-2013) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Wheel hop! (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=305052)

JL330 12-26-2012 11:52 AM

Wheel hop!

What can I do to cut down on this? I'm new to fwd cars and I can't stand when my wheels start bouncing on me and I feel like something is going to break.

amoosenamedhank 12-26-2012 12:10 PM

You must have a lot more power than me because my car doesn't wheel hop at all.

To answer your questions, I'd start with a stiffer RMM and sticker tires.

mac.mogul 12-26-2012 12:13 PM

My 2nd gen did it too. Its just a result of being a passenger car. It's not designed for clutch-dropping red-light launches... It's made for carrying people over distances.

Consider upgrading the suspension parts. Control arms, stiffer bushings, lowering springs, etc.

JL330 12-26-2012 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amoosenamedhank (Post 4512942)

I have those super skinny tires that come with the s model. It looks like bicycle tires.

BaconZombie 12-26-2012 02:11 PM

You need upgraded engine mounts. You're getting wheel hop and shaking in the front when launching, right? The stock engine mounts on our Focus are ridiculously soft. But like what mac.mogul said, it's because it's a passenger car. Upgrade the rear motor mount, most of us are use one from a Mazdaspeed 3, and then hope someone comes out with at least some inserts for the others very soon!

suss6052 12-26-2012 02:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amoosenamedhank (Post 4512942)

The MS3 rmm doesn't prevent wheel hop at all. Car clangs badly with the TCS on for a hard launch with the o.e. tires. TCS off and the tires spin and the hop is less but I think it's still there.

Cobra5O1 12-26-2012 02:40 PM