Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Where to run 1/0 (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=304792)

austinpetemo 12-21-2012 11:54 AM

Where to run 1/0
 
Hi all. I'd like to run some 1/0 gauge wire to replace the 8 gauge crap that I have right now. My current power wire is ran thru the dead pedal thing (automatic trans) and I was wondering if I could fit 1/0 or if I'd have to find another place to run. The reason being is that I'd rather not drill the firewall. My system consists of a Polk pa-600 (pushes 85rms to 4 chan) running front components and on the future maybe rear coax. And a power acoustic amp (claims 300rms bridged, its prolly 200 tho) pushing a small sub until I can afford to upgrade my sub stage. In the future I plan on upgrading to a actual 300-500w sub amp.

1:0 is overkill for my application but for $54 from Knu (cca, not ofc) it seems like a good plan to minimize voltage loss and if I choose to upgrade farther in the future ill have the headroom to do it.

austinpetemo 12-21-2012 12:03 PM

Oh and I thought I'd put this out there. I found the poor mans alternative to ccf for road noise elimination. At Walmart they sell blue tent sleeping pads that are closed cell foam. I bough one pad for $6 and it was enough to cover my hatch floor. It's also pretty thick, I'd say around .5-.75 inch. I plan on buying more and attaching it inside my door panels to try an cancel out more road noise as well as provide padding between my door cards and the doors frame which I'm hoping will help also reduce panel vibrations. I'm thinking GE silicone ought to be able to hold it in place nicely. But I'm open to ideas for better adhesives.

freemind 12-21-2012 03:30 PM

3M Super 77 FTW

austinpetemo 12-21-2012 04:25 PM

Is that stuff heat proof? In the south Texas heat the interior of my car gets rediculously hot.

Elizabeth 12-21-2012 11:08 PM

Planning on welding? Or competing SPLs?
otherwise 8 gauge is totally enough and even overkill.. But it is what folks use. Spend your money on a stiffening cap.

FocusedSlayer 12-22-2012 08:38 AM

I've got 1/0 run down on my drivers side under the carpet to the trunk where I have a distribution block then from there go to my amps with what size wire the amps recommend .

austinpetemo 12-22-2012 09:19 AM

@ Elizabeth - 8awg CCA I know for a fact is not sufficient for powering 2 amps running 600 rms total and around 900 when my subs are upgraded. If 4awg is only rated for 900-1000w then there is no way 8awg is enough. The higher resistance is going to heat that wire up and reduce the current and voltage reaching my amps. I'm aiming to provide my amps with favorable conditions so they can run their best.

austinpetemo 12-22-2012 10:12 AM

The smallest wire I will run is 4awg and only if it's 99.9ofc.

The reason being for the larger wire is because a 1/0 oversized CCA kit from Knu costs $54 where as a 4ofc from knu costs $49. For 5 bucks more I could potentially double my max amp draw in the event that I upgrade farther in the future. If the difference between copper and CCA is significant then I will go with the 4. I a mile from the bay so corrosion of cca could be a possibility???

Also, if you use a dist block for your power should you use a dist block on the ground. I've read that using it could cause ground loops, but I've also read that not using one could cause ground loops as well. Which is it?

02Zetechse 12-22-2012 12:35 PM

To Answer the OP's Question, Yes it will fit, Is it needed no .

As for the Distro Blocks, If you do it for one, do it for both When people pile multiple wires on top of each other on one ground point, it causes interference

As For CCA Corrosion, Where you live is almost 0% chance , I run CCA in Ohio , and have not had any issues

OH and Dont waste your money on a capacitor its a Big Joke

austinpetemo 12-22-2012 03:16 PM

Thanks zetecse, in that case ill go with 4g and ofc due to its lower resistance and peace of mind. Too bad there Arnt really any 2g kits, or at least not that I could find for a reasonable price, rather be extra safe but oh well.

I have a dc to ac converter that I use from time to time. If I hard wired it thru the dist blocks would it cause a loop?


And I found out caps were a waste a few years ago after I had already bought one. Thankfully i only lost $20 on that purchase.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp