Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   cruise control lost after aftermarket stereo install (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=304359)

blackzx4 12-14-2012 02:01 PM

cruise control lost after aftermarket stereo install
 
I drive a 2007 zx4 and just replaced my factory stereo with a aftermarket one.Now my cruise control don't work.I checked all fuses and sensors so i thought i would try stock stereo again and cruise worked! took it out an put my aftermarket one in and now it don't work again dose my cruise control wires pass trough my stock stereo? or is there a work around ? any help would be greatly appreciated i use cruise on a daily bases and am lost without it[mecry][mecry]

Merrigan 12-14-2012 02:05 PM

A wild Newfoundlander! My only guess would be fuses but you've already checked those. But you asked in the right place I'm sure someone on here has a solution for your issue.

blackzx4 12-14-2012 02:11 PM

lol thanks, i sure hope so : )

blackzx4 12-15-2012 07:42 AM

is it possible that no one on this site with cruise replaced there stock stereo ? thought someone would have known something .

KCaudill 12-15-2012 07:59 AM

I have replaced my stock stero a few times with no problems. The only problem i have with my cruise is that i have to pull my clutch pedal up to engage the switch to say the pedal is all the way up. Once i do that the cruise works as it should.

blackzx4 12-15-2012 08:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCaudill (Post 4499390)
I have replaced my stock stero a few times with no problems. The only problem i have with my cruise is that i have to pull my clutch pedal up to engage the switch to say the pedal is all the way up. Once i do that the cruise works as it should.

what type of wiring harness did you use to hook up your stereo ?

H2Out 12-30-2012 02:40 PM

i had the exact issue with no cruise control after installing aftermarket radio. I found the wiring diagram and saw that the green/white wire controls the auto volume adjust for the old radio which the new radio does not have. I pulled out the new radio and left the green/white wire disconnected and cruise control now works fine. hope this helps

coldbear 12-30-2012 03:44 PM

If that clipping the grn/wht. deal works,then this has to be the best Tech forum in the world. That kid might have looked for months before finding the prob. And had a sore rht. leg to go with it.

blackzx4 12-31-2012 10:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by H2Out (Post 4518242)
i had the exact issue with no cruise control after installing aftermarket radio. I found the wiring diagram and saw that the green/white wire controls the auto volume adjust for the old radio which the new radio does not have. I pulled out the new radio and left the green/white wire disconnected and cruise control now works fine. hope this helps

It works!! thanks so much man i have a 2.5 hour drive twice a week and cruise is a must have.[cheers]

coldbear 12-31-2012 12:48 PM

Another one solved!
 
Thanks H2Out... he's the one to get all the credit for responding to your post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp