Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   SVT Performance (2002-2004) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   New SVT owner and also complete noob! (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=303849)

TheRealDeeej 12-07-2012 02:55 AM

New SVT owner and also complete noob!

So I just got my SVT a couple days ago. Wondering if there are any first things I should do to it. Just replaced O2 sensors and changing the oil this weekend. It's got 135k miles on it.
Also, any after market parts I should consider? I don't want it to be a ricer, but I'd like to feel a bit more power:3

sleepyboy 12-07-2012 03:05 AM

Welcome to the forum! [welcome] [ffrocks] [loveff]

If the timing belt hasn't been done then you should do that ASAP. The SVT is a interference motor and will bend the valves if the belt were to break. Other than than just normal maintenance. You should come out to one of our meets. We just had a mini meet at Hooters on the east side of town close to you.

sleepyboy 12-07-2012 03:08 AM

Check out the Texas regional forum HERE and the tx nightly boredom thread HERE

FLYLOW 12-07-2012 12:17 PM

Timing belt & full tune up should be #1 on ur list. If ur not sure it was done before do it anyways. This includes = water pump, all the belts, plugs, coolant, trany oil

When ur done = cat back and intake

If u want more and ur clutch is still gripping hard, orp and a tune from tom

I did all this when i got mine a year ago with 100k, check my threads
/thread

scoutout 12-07-2012 01:00 PM

Everyone is right! Timing and tune #1. How about we see some pics!!!

nate4027 12-07-2012 02:10 PM

I'm also a noob, I plan on attending focusfest in St. Louis next year.

ChrisRobin 12-07-2012 04:39 PM