Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=123)
-   -   Suggestions for information screen (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=303715)

jeff_nc 12-05-2012 10:41 AM

Suggestions for information screen
 
I'm writing in the hopes someone from Ford monitors this forum and cares about owner suggestions. Here's my $.02 about the information screen between the tach and the speedometer on my 2013 Ti.

The bottom row displays the gear selection, compass heading, outside temp, and odometer. It is in low light, and I love it. Cruise control info on top is also great.

However, for the large, bright main portion of the screen, I have a number of choices, none of which are very important to me. I mean, the trip odometers and timers, the gas mileage info and the MyKey info may be important *sometimes*, but not important enough to be the brightest and centermost thing in my line of sight. Likewise the car image that I suppose will tell me if there is a problem with my car. Just don't need to see that all the time.

I would love it if Ford would add some other options for the main portion of the screen. One option would be to turn it off completely, except for emergency information. That would be "easy on the eyes" for long drives.

Another option might be to display the current speed and the current speed limit. Maybe current speed would turn red if it exceeds the speed limit. Right now, speed limit is only displayed on the map screen, and it is very small and hard to read.

Maybe other readers have other ideas?

Woggy64 12-05-2012 02:35 PM

I'd like it to show the the gear you are in - when I pull it into Sport mode it just shows S until I hit the +/- selection to change, then it starts to show what gear it's using in sport mode. I think it should show what gear you are in the minute you pull it into sport would be useful.

cbdallas 12-05-2012 02:41 PM

This is what I like about my Camaro. The center screen can show you one of several different choices, or....it can be blank. I keep it set on MPH, since I don't want to know how horrible the gas mileage is. :-)

scott7278 12-05-2012 03:25 PM

The Euro-spec screen can be/is split four-ways, which I thought was a neat feature:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=295846

I wish they would bring that here!

flingwing1969 12-05-2012 03:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scott7278 (Post 4485223)
The Euro-spec screen can be/is split four-ways, which I thought was a neat feature:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=295846

I wish they would bring that here!

Have you checked the price on a UK Focus? The starting price there is $22,533.35 vs $16,200 here. Base Titanium is $31,155.44 (with incentives) there vs $24,350 (no incentives) here. Features (many government mandated) cost.

jeff_nc 12-05-2012 03:49 PM

That graphic of the car on the right side of the screen used to be replaced by the upcoming turn when I had an active route in Navi. It no longer does - just displays the graphic all the time. Have I inadvertently turned this off? I want it back!

flingwing1969 12-05-2012 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff_nc (Post 4485240)
That graphic of the car on the right side of the screen used to be replaced by the upcoming turn when I had an active route in Navi. It no longer does - just displays the graphic all the time. Have I inadvertently turned this off? I want it back!

You must have Navi? I don't but when I use Sync Directions the upcoming turn does display there, and in the MFT info quadrant. I'm still running 3.0.2 but will be installing 3.5.1 soon - which are you running? Have you tried a master reset?

scott7278 12-05-2012 05:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flingwing1969 (Post 4485232)
Have you checked the price on a UK Focus? The starting price there is $22,533.35 vs $16,200 here. Base Titanium is $31,155.44 (with incentives) there vs $24,350 (no incentives) here. Features (many government mandated) cost.

Not much cost to combine four separate screens into one...the car is already capable of displaying the information.

Sent from my Android using FF Mobile.

jeff_nc 12-05-2012 05:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flingwing1969 (Post 4485277)
You must have Navi? I don't but when I use Sync Directions the upcoming turn does display there, and in the MFT info quadrant. I'm still running 3.0.2 but will be installing 3.5.1 soon - which are you running? Have you tried a master reset?

I have version 3.2.2. The car is only 1 month old. I don't know what a master reset is, but it sounds kind of drastic. Everything is working fine, except for that missing display.

flingwing1969 12-05-2012 05:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeff_nc (Post 4485348)
I have version 3.2.2. The car is only 1 month old. I don't know what a master reset is, but it sounds kind of drastic. Everything is working fine, except for that missing display.

3.2.2 was very buggy - it was pulled from SyncMyRide within a very short period. Master reset is very easy and not a big deal: Disconnect all connected devices (iPod, blue tooth, aux audio, USB etc), From MFT home screen select settings icon, select settings, select system, scroll down and select master reset. You will lose your personal settings - wallpaper, radio presets, phone pairing, etc, but not really much of an issue. I'd recommend taking it in to the shop and having 3.5.1 put in soonest, I understand it solved most if not all the 3.2.2 and 3.0.2 problems without introducing other problems. You will get a new nav card as well. The TSB is at http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=300592 - it is TSB 12-11-01.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp