Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Any way to connect sub to stock radio?? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=303559)

71shadow 12-03-2012 01:22 AM

Any way to connect sub to stock radio??
 
I didn't see a how-to about it and the car and sub in question are.. 04 Fofo Wagon se with the stock headunit with the little security strip that can be taken out and sub is a rockford fosgate p2 with sony amp and capacitor any help will be appreciated... Im such a NOOB haha

gurkpimpin 12-03-2012 02:15 AM

You will have run the blue remote wire to the fuse box and tie it in to one of the fuses that turn on with the car that way the amp powers on and off with the car and doesn't drain your battery..the RCA cables will hook onto the the amp normal but the other end will have to be cut off and spliced into the one of the back speakers I would go with the one closes to the amp..so negative on negative and positive on positive..hope that helps you should know where the rest goes and make sure to wire the sub to the mono channel + to the left + and the - to the right - and always match the wires up don't forget about the ground to the chassis and the battery cable to the + battery post.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using FF Mobile

71shadow 12-03-2012 02:34 AM

sweet thanks alot!! Rep to you!

sleepyboy 12-03-2012 02:43 AM

Hey why you no ask me? The yellow and black wire off the back of the radio can work too, or was it yellow and green? I forget which lol

71shadow 12-03-2012 02:46 AM

haha and u wondered y haha nah i started thinking about it after the meet

sleepyboy 12-03-2012 02:52 AM

You could also just tap into any of the fuses like mentioned earlier. Probably be alot easier since you wouldn't have to pull the radio. Just look under the dash lol. I'd get a fuse tap thing for it though. I been meaning to get one myself for my gauges' inverter for the longest time but I forget about it until I'm in the car lol

sleepyboy 12-03-2012 02:52 AM

Shouldn't you be in bed?

02fordsvt 12-03-2012 07:16 AM

The best way is to get a new headunit and dump your old one. Your stock headunit will never match the performance of even most poor aftermarket headunits.

However, if you want to keep your old headunit, the best way to connect an amp for a sub is to use an LOC converter which draws the sound from both rear speakers. Some amps like my Dual have an internal LOC converter so all you need to do is run the speaker wires to the amp and don't need any RCA cables.

The remote wire can be done like has been said above.

71shadow 12-03-2012 11:02 AM

Yea i already know about getting another headunit but its a until that happens.... i want just a lil bump bump i got a deal on this setup so i took it saving for head unit will be the next bit

SvviftSVT 12-03-2012 11:38 AM

Looks like i'm going to have fun installing this..
since its an auto, there should already be an accessible hole in the firewall to run the power cable thru.

get the stuff and then we should be able to hook this up in no time flat..
tapping into the back speaker will give you bass.. but won't be as clear and proper as it would using the LOC, like was mentioned by Bryan.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp