Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   SVT Interior Mods & Upgrades (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=110)
-   -   Audio question. (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=303465)

StephenElsbree1986 12-01-2012 02:51 PM

Audio question.
 
So gf talking about what to get me for Christmas and she decided she wanted to suprize me with a headunit, my only conern is I was told if I do not use the stock SVT Head unit my Amp wont work. I just need to know if I replace the head unit with a nother double din would my stock amp work fine?

Edit: I always forget there an audio thread sorry for posting in the wrong place do you mind moving it?

jjones6116 12-01-2012 04:25 PM

Not sure all the details, but unless you go modify it the stock amp won't work with a replacement radio.

jkennedy 12-01-2012 07:07 PM

I got mine to work just fine with a double din radio. I took a regular red/white audio cable, cut it and wired it to the third radio plug. Only other thing you hook up is the acc wire. Works great.

FocusHero 12-02-2012 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkennedy (Post 4479436)
I got mine to work just fine with a double din radio. I took a regular red/white audio cable, cut it and wired it to the third radio plug. Only other thing you hook up is the acc wire. Works great.

What he said I did it and it took me all of 2 minutes

ViperThreat 12-03-2012 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjones6116 (Post 4479292)
Not sure all the details, but unless you go modify it the stock amp won't work with a replacement radio.

Incorrect. There are a few tutorials on the forums here on how to do just that.

ryan21288 12-04-2012 07:20 AM

I did it in my car. I also replaced the speakers with Memphis audio and replaced my blown stock sub with a jl audio 8w1 running off the stock amp. It made such a difference. It sounds amazing!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp