Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   New to the Focus/ 2.3 Duratec..time for a build? (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=302179)

86fiveoh 11-13-2012 10:40 AM

New to the Focus/ 2.3 Duratec..time for a build?

Alright so I'm new to the Focus and 2.3 scene, I've had the car for just shy of 2 years (2004 zx5 w/ 2.3 duratec) and i wanna do some mods to make it a little more fun. I'm not looking for an all out race car, Ive already got a car thats fast, this is my DD and i just want a little more fun.

basic goal would be ~ 170-200hp range. I already ordered a bunch of suspension parts, but as far as what makes power on these engines, i have no idea. i know the basics, cai, tune, etc. im looking to see things like is a header actually gonna give any noticeable gains? or is it not worth the $/ time installing etc

so far all that is done to the car is a tune, and a few appearance mods, and then my suspension parts on order.

finally, if at all possible, id like to stay NA and try and keep my fuel economy.

sjdwales 11-13-2012 10:56 AM

to get in that power range u need intake, stage 2 cams, exhaust manifold, exhaust and tune.

YellowJellyBean 11-13-2012 11:17 AM

170-200 is a pretty wide range for a car that starts out at about 140. I would agree with sjdwales, though. Intake, exhaust, and tune will get you a to about 150 at the wheels. Header and cams should be enough to push you beyond that.

Boost is the quicker and easier way to go, but I personally would prefer the instant power from an NA build.

Now that I look at that, I already have the intake, header, and tune. All I need now are cams and an exhaust, hmm...

86fiveoh 11-13-2012 11:34 AM

Hmm, that's what I was afraid of, not sure how the cams/intake manifold will effect drive ability/gas mileage.