Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Swapping Audiophile System (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=300070)

Sully313 10-17-2012 02:42 PM

Swapping Audiophile System
 
Is it possible to swap an Audophile system into SVT 5dr not originally equipped with it?

I don't want an aftermarket system.

Currently the volume button in the car is acting funky so I'm looking for a stock replacement and I would like to upgrade to the audiophile system w/the sub. I was kind of bummed when I found out the car wasn't equipped with it when I looked at it but I bought it anyway. I would also like to keep the steering column controls.

Is it possible? What parts would I need besides the obvious radio and sub?

FocusHero 10-17-2012 05:47 PM

I believe the stock radio and audio pile have the same wire harness so all you need is the sub harness and you just have to run wires for the sub which is very easy if you have any audio sense at all just find a diagram floating around on here for the amp

mainest 10-17-2012 10:35 PM

I believe all SVTs came with the sub harness installed whether it had the sub or not. It should be as simple as buying and installing the HU and the sub/amp. I happen to have a sub/amp with carpet. If you are interested, PM me. Good luck.

Sully313 10-21-2012 01:02 PM

So, If I was sub harness, where would I be? Where should I look for it? I tried a search for the sub connections but was unable to find anything that helped.

Sully313 10-21-2012 07:46 PM

Found it! Once I got the carpet trim off, it was fairly obvious.

ah1f39 10-21-2012 11:15 PM

If the only problem is the volume knob, you can get the steering wheel audio control. They work great.

Sully313 10-21-2012 11:42 PM

Mine has the volume control on the column.
With this radio. I'm assuming that this radio lacks the sub harness provisions.
http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/l...100_1206-1.jpg

ah1f39 10-21-2012 11:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sully313 (Post 4416588)
Mine has the volume control on the column.
With this radio. I'm assuming that this radio lacks the sub harness provisions.
http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/l...100_1206-1.jpg

No sub on that. You can use an LOC to hook up a subwoofer. There many how to's.

You will get more bass than the Audiophile by using an LOC from both rear channels.

Sully313 10-22-2012 08:05 AM

I don't want to go that far. I was just trying to take the easy way out and plun-n-play.

Sully313 10-23-2012 06:22 PM

I acquired a sub, amp and carpet but the sub has a 09 part number and the carpet has a 08 number. I'm assuming it won't work. I tried a test fit and I think there are subtle differences. The carpet looks like it wraps around the back side of the box too. Also the location of the plug for the amp is towards the back. but the amp could be mounted with the amp input towards the font..

Anyone have info/input on this?


http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...n/IMAG0240.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...n/IMAG0239.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...n/IMAG0238.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...n/IMAG0237.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...IMAG0252-1.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l2...n/IMAG0241.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.