Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Focus ST (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Navigation and Back Up Camera (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=299852)

shineboy 10-14-2012 09:57 PM

Navigation and Back Up Camera
 
I bought a ST2 with nav... anyone know if a back up camera can be added?

shineboy 10-16-2012 07:01 PM

or should come with one?

shineboy 11-05-2012 10:02 PM

anybody out there...............

Now534 11-06-2012 12:21 AM

You can put one on there from what i have seen you have to get a plate frame camera then get a module (navtv) to get it to work. Its well over $500 i believe to do.

acbauza 12-21-2012 10:09 PM

If you get the Nav update from the dealer then it will stop reminding you the camera is not there.

shineboy 12-22-2012 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by acbauza (Post 4508421)
If you get the Nav update from the dealer then it will stop reminding you the camera is not there.

Good to know, thanks!!

acbauza 12-22-2012 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shineboy (Post 4509106)
Good to know, thanks!!

Bring a book. It took the dealer 2 + hrs to reflash the system. The upgrade made the system much more stable, but I've noticed the radio is acting a bit weird. Could be a fluke. Overall much better.

Bagdasar 12-24-2012 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Now534 (Post 4442133)
You can put one on there from what i have seen you have to get a plate frame camera then get a module (navtv) to get it to work. Its well over $500 i believe to do.

Definitely well over $500. The nav-tv module alone is $500 plus perhaps $150 for your camera and another $150 to install brings you to around $800 to pay for someone else to do the job.

FordIVTteam 01-02-2013 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shineboy (Post 4405365)
I bought a ST2 with nav... anyone know if a back up camera can be added?

Hi, shineboy -

Congrats on the new ST! As close as I get to one is playing Need For Speed. [giggle]

To answer your question, the back up camera cannot be added once the vehicle has left the factory.

Please don't hesitate to give me a shout if I can help with anything else.

Jaclyn

bigdesignmachine 01-02-2013 04:16 PM

Im curious as to why the camera cant be added once the car has left the showroom. Is this to say that it can be added prior to us taking possession of our ST and taking it home?

If that is the case, it would seem logical that Ford would just simple add the option of the backup camera to the ST.

I know larger cars running MFT and LFT have backup cameras. The Focus in general; especially the hatchback models, would have benefited from the backup camera simply due to their small rear windows and limited viewing.

There are a couple short sighted choices Ford made on the ST that I wish could / would be remedied with newer models of the ST. This is one of them that drives me nuts.

I always thought of the SVT and now ST as the Focus you bought because you wanted extra power, sexier looks, and some creature comforts that even the top of line trim package wouldnt get you on a trim under the SVT / ST.

This doesnt seem to be the case anymore.






Quote:

Originally Posted by FordIVTteam (Post 4521556)
Hi, shineboy -

Congrats on the new ST! As close as I get to one is playing Need For Speed. [giggle]

To answer your question, the back up camera cannot be added once the vehicle has left the factory.

Please don't hesitate to give me a shout if I can help with anything else.

Jaclyn



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp