Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Metra Axxcess ASWC Install (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=299083)

matmatician 10-04-2012 10:32 PM

Metra Axxcess ASWC Install
 
Hi All,

Couldn't find a write up for visual learners like myself, so I figured I'd make one. This is how to install a Metra Axxcess ASWC in a 2006 ZX4... Or about as close as I can come to doing it right with virtually no electrical skills. Feel free to critique, as I'm sure some folks will know how to do this better than I. Also, if you follow these instructions and mess something up, don't blame me! [nono]

First thing I did (obviously) was remove the stock head unit. Removal was pretty simple. That part, I'm fairly sure most folks can manage without pictures.

Next, I installed the aftermarket wiring harness. I just used 18-22 butt splices. Also, pretty easy. Just match up the colors unless the instructions state otherwise. (pic is at the bottom)

Now for the ASWC.
Hook up the Green and White cable from the Axxess Unit to pin 18, and the power to pin 2. Ground will go to pin 19. I just used quick splices, which worked fine for me.
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-d.../FemaleEnd.jpg

This is how it should look finished:
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-0...T4/s903/12+-+1
(ignore the duct tape, it was just to keep the latches on the quick splices down)

Now, if you look, you'll discover that pin 19 (the ground for the ASWC) is not actually grounded!
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-A...mE/s903/12+-+1

It used to ground through the stock stereo, so you have to make a new ground. I believe we crimped both the new wire that now grounds the stock harness and the ASWC ground into the same unit.
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-L...yE/s734/12+-+1

There are several places you can ground to. I used the screws that secure the unit that holds the head unit in place. However, I would probably recommend the hole at the bottom of the picture that's circled. It's solid metal. You just need to find a screw and nut that will fit.
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-Q...4/Grounded.bmp


And this is what the end product should look like!
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-l...k0/s903/12+-+1

Its kinda ugly, and soldering would probably be a way better route to go, but for those of us who don't have the tools, skills, or money to go that route, this way works pretty darn well too. The Metra Axxcess AWC I used automatically detected and programmed my Sony radio functions perfectly, so unfortunately, if yours doesn't, I can't help you there. Good luck!

qweesy 04-01-2013 10:16 AM

awesome thank you

matmatician 04-01-2013 11:05 AM

No problem!

ABallew6 04-09-2013 03:42 PM

Hey, quick question where did you pick up your quick splices, and what gauge are they?

Thanks a bunch.

matmatician 04-09-2013 04:41 PM

If memory serves right, I believe I got the quick spliced at Home Depot, and I wanna say they were 18-20 gauge, although they may have been 20-22.

ABallew6 04-09-2013 04:43 PM

Sweet, thanks a bunch. I saw 14-16s at auto zone. I'll just ask someone up there. I know I needed 16 gauge wire for the ground so, I'm guessing 16 gauge there too but I'm probably wrong.

matmatician 04-09-2013 04:55 PM

Ground wire is a bit bigger so yea, I'd say 16 is a safe bet there

ABallew6 04-09-2013 04:57 PM

true, well I will try a couple. The worst that will happen is I blow a fuse right?

matmatician 04-09-2013 05:11 PM

Yup, but I doubt that will happen. Just make sure you're using a 10amp fuse!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.