Focus Fanatics

Focus Fanatics (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Technical Chat (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   i want to blow up my car (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298877)

sgtsmasher 10-01-2012 08:30 PM

i want to blow up my car
 
ok so. here is my issue, my car wont start after replacing the old cracked battery, and putting in a brand new one. when i put the new one in and got the termanals hooked up after replacing those as well (brand new). i went to turn the car on and it wouldn't start, the wipers came on without me touching them and the gauge needles went all the way up and back down and also the mileage numbers turned to dash marks. what the hell is going on with my car. i have one idea, that i might have killed my alternator because the cracked battery always needed to be charged when running and i was using my stereo system with all this going on. could that be it?!?!?! i really dont want to replace the alt. i really cant afford to spend another $250 on this dumb ass car, im so over fixing things on it, i just want to drive it [bawling]

grayzx35speed 10-01-2012 08:55 PM

The needles resetting happened because the ecu was without power for a period time car. As for your alt, the car should start with a new battery. The altenator charges the battery while driving. Does the car crank at all?

sgtsmasher 10-01-2012 09:08 PM

No it doesnt, not even that stupid clicking noise like when your battery is dead. And i dont have the patients to pull the alt and see if thats the problem, although i could do the big 3 while it is out, how many bolts hold it on and whats the size of them

iminhell 10-01-2012 09:30 PM

Find some one local and knowledgeable to come over and look your car over for you.
Looking over you older posts, you don't seem to have the patients to doublecheck your work. Sorry, just being honest.


Gauge sweep is normal upon unhooking the battery. Take longer than ~5 min for this to occur IIRC.
Dashes aren't normal. Ground issue is most common.
Wipers coming on by themselves says either something is grounding out in the ignition circuit, fuse panel of any other system associated with the wipers ... the relay on the back of the interior fuse panel is finding alternative switched power.

Or you have the terminals backwards on the battery.

sgtsmasher 10-01-2012 09:42 PM

Ok well when i have time what im going to is, redo the wiring. i may have tried rushing it due to the fact that it was literally dark as hell out, and i had a desk lamp to work under for lighting. The first thing ill check is the ground from the battery terminal to the car, cause thats the only wire that i chopped off and changed to bigger gauge. I also sanded a bare spot for it as well as the screw holding it, mayne its just not good enough, thanks though. Ill recheck my work under actual light not a lamp lol.

iminhell 10-01-2012 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sgtsmasher (Post 4382576)
cause thats the only wire that i chopped off and changed to bigger gauge.


Concern.
I'm taking this statement to say that you cut the factory ground leaving a few inches to attach a large gauge wire to. Correct?

If so, ditch the factory wire altogether and use an aftermarket clamp. Attach all the factory grounds to the new clamp.
Never splice grounds.

sgtsmasher 10-02-2012 06:08 AM

No, the factory terminal that was on there, i cut off the ground from that to the chassis, that is what i replaced. The big factory ground i cut from the terminal right at the end of it, i did no splicing of any wires. Im guessimng my "quick" fix is what is keeping the car from starting as well as the hack job of trying to mash all the wires under the wing nuts...im sure ill figure it out, cause it ran before i parked it again to mess with the battery and wires. Ill post any more problems when i mess with it later after work....

grayzx35speed 10-02-2012 01:14 PM

In this case I agree with everyone else, if it ran before you parked it and did.your hack job, then now you have funny electrical issues it is most likely somewhere in the wiring you did.

sgtsmasher 10-02-2012 02:38 PM

Yea im going to clean it up a little bit, change the stock wires to the ones i got at advance. I got 2 72" 4 gauge wires brand new positive and ground. And i have left over amp cable that im going use also to increase the electric flow, ill get it, hopefully lol

sgtsmasher 10-02-2012 07:37 PM

FOUND THE DAMN PROBLEM....

see that stupid little black wire with the orange stripe, yea i didnt see it the first time SOB
http://i630.photobucket.com/albums/u...8/IMAG0331.jpg


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


http://www.focusfanatics.com/aboutus/copyright.asp