Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum

Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/index.php)
-   MK2 Focus (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   Help - 08 Transmission Fluid Mistake (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=298532)

ThaKillerKlown 09-26-2012 07:34 PM

Help - 08 Transmission Fluid Mistake
 
I have an 08 Focus w/an Automatic transmission. Its leaked a drop or two since it was new, @ 20k miles, they pulled the transmission and went through it, 55k miles later, it still drips. I recently started a new job that requires a 150 mile round trip commute so I checked my fluids, noticed it was low (fluid was right at the bottom hole, right below the crisscross patter on the dip stick) so I thought I'd pick up a quart of Mercon LV and fill it up.

My wife and I were discussing the days events after work today and I pulled the transmission dip stick and without though poured the whole quart in. I had assumed, like most cars, when the "oil" dip stick reads that low, you add a quart. Well, upon rechecking the transmision fluid level I fear I have overfilled it.

So, I have two questions, 1.) How low is the transmission fluid when its just below the crisscross pattern? and 2.) What is the simplest way to drain some of the fluid back out?

I appreciate any and all help you can give me. I don't wanna risk driving it and tearing something up!

st12131 09-26-2012 08:51 PM

I would look for a drain plug, service port or even cracking the trans cooler line open a little to get it out. As a last resort I would get a fluid pump and suck it out of the dip stick tube. Also I assume you checked the fluid, hot with the trans in N?

sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII using FF Mobile

ThaKillerKlown 09-26-2012 10:24 PM

Went with the hose method. Thanks for the help! I bet I pay closer attention next time. [:I]

st12131 09-26-2012 11:49 PM

Glad it worked out for you, next time add just a little bit slower.

Yet another reason I drive a 5speed!

sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII using FF Mobile

md2009 10-04-2012 04:26 PM

Unfortunately they don't come with a drain plug from the factory. :(

But, you can add one fairly easily if you like:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=277012

Makes it a lot easier to change the fluid and filters if you can drain the pan before dropping it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.